Best Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by girlexplorer
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made the recipe as written, using cortland apples. It was tasty, but very dry. The apples looked roasted, more than baked, however, when sluced it held together nicely. I served at Thanksgiving dinner and people seemed to enjoy it, and all but one piece went. In future I would adjust the flour based on the apples and add a little sugar, I think that might have helped there to be more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
We loved, loved, LOVED this recipe. It was sweet, even without the added sugar, and came out perfect! My new favorite apple pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by db
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Pretty good pie, 9 apples were too many, must of picked large ones, 425 is a little hot unless you foil the rim of your pie crust, I shot for firm not mushy with the apples (matter of fact my result was a little too firm, still delicious) hope this doesn't post twice (centered my pic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very easy, I did add a quarter cup of brown sugar. I also did a lattice top, as I didn't have enough dough. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Very sour- needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is a tart apple pie. I added a sprinkle of sugar just because the apples were a little young and not fully sweet. A lovely pie overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I kind of liked the tartness and less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
best no hassle pie no need to add sugar for me. good apples required of course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I added approx:5 tablespoon of light brown sugar. Was a hit. The sugar works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
My husband can not have sugar so I tried this for him and we both love it. It was the first pie I have ever made, and it turned out really good. I have improved with the next two pies, but did not change a thing. Thank you!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States