Best Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
A great recipe. My daughter didn't know there was no sugar and she said it tasted appley. I used 1T frozen orange concentrate instead of the lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Thr recipe was very easy and straightforward. It comes out pretty darn sour with no sugar and that much lemon, like MASMAY said. I used about 1/4 cup of sugar with this recipe, and it was still sour. The lemon overpowered the taste of the apples, and you really rely on the apples for all of the sweetness in this pie. Although I did get some nice comments, nobody came back for seconds. The next time I use this recipe, I'll either cut the lemon in half and add 1/4 cup of sugar (or and equivelence of sugar substitute) or try JSONEAL's idea of 1Tbsp OJ instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Dog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
After reading other reviews I took some of their advice, I only put ten drops of lemon juice in, and I added 1/4 c. of sugar, being the sugar fan that I am. I used 6 mac apples and 3 gala which made a great combination. I'll deffinatly be using this recipe again, the taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel LaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I was so happy to find this recipe! My dad loves pies and cakes but is a diabetic and has a hard time during the holidays with all the baked goods around that he can't have. This pie was EASY and SO GOOOOOOD!!! I made this at Thanksgiving - the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe! Very Easy! I lightly covered with tinfoil the last ten minutes of cooking to keep from getting too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I added a cup of blueberries because I was short apples, used orange juice like the other reader suggested and a splash of vanilla. Overall excellent it doesn't need sugar at all. The granny smith apples made the pie tangy and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berryblue031

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was hopeful this would be great, but it was a disaster. I used granny smiths with the lemon (maybe should have used orange as recommended) and it was sour and not sweet at all. I followed the recipe to the letter, I believe, but had no takers after two pieces. Big disappointment as we have loved a no sugar apple pie from BJ's in the past. Thanks, but it was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was my first ever apple pie and I probably should have paid more attention to the fact that there wasn't any sugar involved, but this pie came out sour and dry. It needs a lot more sweetness and moisture, perhaps pre-cooking the apples would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I added approx:5 tablespoon of light brown sugar. Was a hit. The sugar works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adsum
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this pie for a dinner. It was only the second pie I have ever made, and it came out great. Nobody could tell it didn't have sugar. I used this crust: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pastry-for-Double-Crust-Pie/Detail.aspx. I also watched the video on woven lattice crusts just before I made it, and everyone was very impressed with that. http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Making-a-Lattice-Top-Pie-Video/Detail.aspx. I highly suggest these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States