Best Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was my first ever apple pie and I probably should have paid more attention to the fact that there wasn't any sugar involved, but this pie came out sour and dry. It needs a lot more sweetness and moisture, perhaps pre-cooking the apples would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe for no sugar added pie. This pie held together well it was not runny like other apple pies. It tasted great the whole family liked it. I made it in the morning and by the next day all of it was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Go, Debbie! This has become the favorite apple pie in our house, although I do add 1 Tablespoon of brown sugar to the pie. We like to use 3 Fuji apples, 3 Granny Smiths, and 3 Gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I like my pies tart and not too sugary! I used my own crust recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this and it was VERY tart.....too sour.....going to stick with an apple pie with sugar. Ended up throwing it in the garbage...what a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyn2e2s7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Good recipe! Use sweeter apples rather than tart that will take care of the sugar/sweetness issue, I used whatever I had on hand here, which is golden delicious..turned out nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I will NEVER make an apple pie again with flour instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adsum
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this pie for a dinner. It was only the second pie I have ever made, and it came out great. Nobody could tell it didn't have sugar. I used this crust: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pastry-for-Double-Crust-Pie/Detail.aspx. I also watched the video on woven lattice crusts just before I made it, and everyone was very impressed with that. http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Making-a-Lattice-Top-Pie-Video/Detail.aspx. I highly suggest these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
After reading other reviews I took some of their advice, I only put ten drops of lemon juice in, and I added 1/4 c. of sugar, being the sugar fan that I am. I used 6 mac apples and 3 gala which made a great combination. I'll deffinatly be using this recipe again, the taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel LaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I added a cup of blueberries because I was short apples, used orange juice like the other reader suggested and a splash of vanilla. Overall excellent it doesn't need sugar at all. The granny smith apples made the pie tangy and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berryblue031

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States