Best Apple Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I also just made the crumble and not the crust and it was AMAZING. Seriously the best crumble topping I've ever made. My only complaint with this recipes was that cooking the apple slices that long turned them to mush so I would cook them only for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
1. No need for the crust. 2. No need to cook the apples before baking. 3. I don't even use the coconut when making the crumble - I just add a bit more rolled oats. 4. I like to add a little lemon juice to the apples. I've made this crumble dozens of times. It takes 5 minutes to put together and always comes out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The apples got too mushy because of cooking. If you have to change it significantly to make it tolerable or good, then it's not the same recipe! I admit I followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It came out quite nice but very dry. The pastry base was quite thick because there was a lot of it - usually a good thing! - but it was really dry, especially with a nice helping of the crumble topping. I couldn't taste the custard powder at all. If I make this again, I might use a different pastry recipe for the base. Also, if you have a deep enough dish or pan you could double the fruit that goes in the middle. Prep time was way more than 30 mins for me. I'm afraid we only ate half of it and the dog got the rest a week later - too much dry pastry. You can find custard powder at many US Giant or Wegman stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
It was vary good but too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this pie was delicious! the only changes I made was added an extra egg to the crust, it made the crust not so crumbley. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the apples. I will definately be making this crumble again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Fantastic recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was pretty darn good, but it uses an awful lot of butter and, I agree, there's a bit too much crumble. I also added a little cinnamon to the crust, and used brown sugar in the crumble. The custard powder was a nice touch, and I found it, of all places, at the local 99 Cents Only store. For only 99 cents! Finally, I overcooked my apples, so start watching them about halfway through to make sure you don't get applesauce. Overall, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TODDINHB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Thank you. Very good recipe. Added a dash of cloves and nutmeg to apples too. And good grief folks, before you review - look up custard powder on the www, that's why you have it! There are other ingredients than just what you find in the US in the rest of the world...surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States