Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
this was one odd recipe for Apple crisp. The topping was the consistency of cookie dough, I sort of crumbled/spread it over the apples and skeptically put it in the oven. It took a long time to bake because I was waiting for it to brown, which it never did. When I took it out, I served it to my husband - he ate it without comment, which is unusual, and then as he put the plate down, said, "that was good". He is a polite, appreciative man, and usually raves over Apple crisp when I make my usual recipes with oatmeal. This did not evoke any more than a polite comment. My teenage son of course liked it and gave it a "4" but he has a strong sweet tooth which accounts for the extra star. I will not make it again. It was certainly not inedible, but it was bland and lacked the buttery crunchy crispness of other recipes I've enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Made this today and it looks exactly like the picture. Will have husband give it the official taste test tonight and let everyone know what he thinks... We loved it! Made it from apples from a tree in our yard, so we don't know what variety they are, but we both thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It's not a good recipe. Cut flour to 1/2 cup. I always use more nutmeg than cinnamon because it makes my recipes stand out from all the cinnamon that usually takes center stage in desserts. 1 cup instant rolled oats. Butter should be 3 tbsp. You need to cover it with foil to steam cook it and then remove towards end to brown. I'm adding cranberries into my apple and brown sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe and I liked it. In fact I'm making it for the fourth time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Watch the video! Make sure you mix the dry ingredients; mix the butter & egg and then hand mix the egg/butter into to mix. Form crumbles by hand; makes a GREAT crisp. The only thing I change is use half white half brown sugar in the topping and add some vanilla. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This topping was flavorless, dry, overly sweet and lacking in the typical oats and caramel flavor associated with Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I'm a Grandma & have made several apple crisps over the years. I loved this & will make it over & over. It is different than a regular apple crisp, so maybe that why many complained about it. It is more like some of the pies with crumb topping. I like it better than the pie recipes as it is less fattening. Really really good. I'm making it for my daughters & grandkids for Sun. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
OMG!!! Threw this recipe together in what seemed like five minutes. Whoever named this Best Apple Crisp Ever really new Their stuff!! Was sooooooo good!!! Definitely one i will keep on hand for a quick,yummy,comforting desert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The topping is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this tonight. It was quick and easy. I wouldn't say it's "the best ever" but it is very good. I don't know what happened to the people who reported it to be one or 2 stars. I had no problems and made the recipe as is. Great hot with cool whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Middleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States