Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
We're definitely in the minority here. The finished meat had a strange mouth feel and very little flavor. I'm disappointed because this was my first time using the saffron my cousin brought back from her honeymoon in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Fabulous! I cut the sugar in half and omitted the safron. I thought it was still a bit sweet, but my husband disagreed. It grilled up nice and crispy on the outside and moist and flavorful on the inside. This one's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is the second time I have made this and it is definitely a great tasting 5 star marinade. I reduced the amount of oil and replaced with a little water (still very thick). I added a little extra honey. I did not use saffron for the obvious cost reason. The marinade has a nice sweet & garlic flavor with a slightly spicy aftertaste. As I like things hot, I added extra chipotle pepper along with the cayenne pepper. I also marinated the chicken for about 7 hours (instead of 20 or so) since I forgot to make the marinade the night before. I placed on a medium, preheated grill, brushed more marinade on, grilled for 5 minutes, flipped for three cycles and then grilled an additional 5 minuets. I served with rice and a small tossed salad. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
We made this with turkey breast fillet, and marinated it overnight. Spicy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVE50613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
My husband made this for me for my birthday. I'm a very picky eater so he got extra points for spending so much time making sure it was something I'd like. And if I like it, I know you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe is relatively easy for the most part. I took the advice of previous reviews and nixxed the saffron for cost purposes. I would add a few extra shakes of the cayenne pepper though, because it does add more flavor. I've only tried this recipe on chicken breasts, not legs, thighs or wings, but I'm sure it's do-able. This recipe is fun to try at least once. You might want to use a little less than what they recommend for olive oil and honey because there seemed to be a little too much. Plus you want to get the spices in there as much as poassible to hold he flavor, and if it's all olive oil and honey, then it tastes a little off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celticstar84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Interesting blend of sweet and hot. I will probably add just a touch more Cayenne pepper next time. I did omit the saffron as I didn't have any on hand. I also marinated the chicken overnight. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks, Bessy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is SO delicious. I have made this a ton of times this summer, and everyone who has tasted it cannot say enough about how moist and flavorful it is. I change a few minor things: I skip the saffron (used it once out of curiosity, and it didn't make enough of a difference to justify the price -- it's amazing without it), I cut the cayenne pepper back to just under 1/2 tsp. (to be honest, I've never tried it with the full amount, but it just sounds like a lot of cayenne to me -- 1/2 tsp. is great), I cut the amount of olive oil in half, and I increase the marinating time. I've let this marinate anywhere from a couple of hours to a couple of days (once when going away on a trip when I had to take dinner along to make a couple of days later) -- delicious, any way you go about it. Great for chicken sandwiches; equally great with rice pilaf or grilled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was so delicious! I don't have a grill but it came out very nicely in the broiler. Very moist, not dry at all. I let it marinate for several hours instead of 25 minutes and didn't use the saffron because I didn't have any. My fiance raved about it all through the meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
delicious! I skipped the saffron. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States