Besan (Gram Flour) Halwa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect proportions, tastes just like my grandmothers. Important to cook the ghee-flour mixture until it is fragrant and just browned. I used just slightly less sugar, but I think what the recipe calls for is actually perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
yr good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Followed directions as is - minus the cardamom as I did not have any on hand. It didn't take more than 5 minutes after adding the milk. Came together perfect. Thanks for an amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
instead of cardamom, i used half teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, and it was so good that it tasted like pumpkin pie. infact, on a creative day, i might even use this recipe in a pie crust..it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is great. I followed the recipe as written and it was easy to make. Didn't bother to cut it up in diamonds just put the whole thing in a bowl and decorated it with almonds and pistachios roughly chopped up in a coffee grinder. Got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very easy to prepare I added a little more Cardamon than it called for and I topped mine with some crushed Pistachios that I added a very small amount of brown sugar to when I crushed them. It was a big hit will definately make this again Thank you for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Bett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was easy to make, and not as sweet as most American candy! I added a little cinnamon as extra spice. Great tasting! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had some leftover chickpea flour from making Nan Khatai and decided to try this...I'm not familiar with this type of Halwa, so it was a new experience! I substituted butter (not quite sure how much I used) because I didn't have ghee. I may have needed more...the flour mixture was very lumpy so I added a bit of oil. Since I don't know what this is supposed to be like, I'm not sure if it turned out...what I do know is that the cardamom flavour was wonderful, and I really enjoyed this sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States