Bertha's Big Bourbon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
After reading the comments about the cake's dryness, I opted to cook it only for 55 minutes. The filling and the parts of the cake adjacent to the filling are quite tasty and moist. However, the top part of the cake is somewhat...dry (that's the best word I can think of to describe it). Not sure if the flour ratio is off in the recipe, or if there is a better way to distribute the batter so that more of it is in contact with the filling. Speaking of the batter... I was very skeptical about the batter - it was unlike anything I've prepared before. Very stiff. Not like a cake batter, but not like cookie dough either. But, it baked up fine. Finally, the glaze was flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I'm really shocked at the bad ratings and glad I didn't read them before making the cake. It was a huge hit! I didn't find it dry at all. Should have used a little less water in the glaze as most of it ran off, but probably it was very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina E. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura, California, USA
Living In: Stagecoach, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
flavor was good but it was dry. I probably wont bother making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Pugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Noureldin
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have added a photo. First of all the ingredients and directions were confusing. It needs a different layout to follow it easier. However, as much time as it takes to make this recipe, it was quite disappointing. I followed the recipe as listed without changes. The cake was quite dry (even though I baked it 67 minutes instead of 75) dense, and really unedible. The filling was grainy. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Noureldin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Don't worry about excluding the bourbon from the cake when making it for children; alcohol is burned off in recipes that raise the temperature this high for this long. All that is left is rich bourbon flavor. This is pretty tasty, but it's not my favorite bundt cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Read

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I disagree with the last review!!! And, so do my coworkers. I won THIRD PLACE in my company's dessert bake-off with this recipe last year. (The competition was tough.) Everyone loved it. It does take some work to make, but the flavor is good - I topped it off with a thick fudge glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
It was a good cake overall, but for some reason the cake itself is a bit dry except the center filling. Several people in my family have made it so it isn't just me. It takes a little longer than I had hoped but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States