Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is always a huge hit. One word of advice...after you put the 1st layer of cake and berries down, pour half the "pudding" mixture over top, then finish with another layer and pour the rest of the pudding mixture. The mixture is too thick to reach the bottom layer if you only pour over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
First off, this is the ONLY dessert I have ever made where my husband asked for seconds...and he doesn't even like dessert! This was one of the best and most delicious recipes I have ever gotten from Allrecipes.com! I did, however, make the following changes: 1) In place of the cool whip, I used a pint sized container of heavy cream, whipped, and flavored w/ vanilla extract. I added approx 1 1/2 cups of the whipped cream to the custard mixture, and "frosted" the top of the trifle with the rest. 2) Instead of the blackberries, I used a 16 oz carton of frozen sliced sweetened strawberries in syrup. I thawed it in the microwave and spooned the syrup on the cake layers to moisten instead of the praline liqueur. 3) I made multiple layers of cake, berries and custard, instead of just one layer of cake on the bottom. 4) I used a 13 oz Entemann's All Butter Loaf Cake and it worked perfectly. This was SO delicious I can't even believe it! I definitely plan on making it for family and friends in the summer, when fresh berries are in season. Thanks for an AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Yum, yum! This was a hit. Definitely add the extra half cup of milk to pudding. Next time I will layer cake and berries for an even prettier presentation. Leave more time for berries to defrost, as well, so that the juice is well absorbed by the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Absolutely outstanding recipe and sooooo simple to make. Some substitutions (or additions) I made were: cut the lb cake lengthwise in thirds, spread apricot jam on each layer, put back together, then cut into cubes. I then layered the ingredients using a different berry for each layer (fresh berries only - blackberry, raspberry, blueberry,& strawberry)- cake, berry, pudding, etc. I couldn't find any praline liqueur so I lightly drizzled caramel over the cake before adding each layer. I garnished with a big dollup of whip cream and a fanned out strawberry and then placed fresh blueberries around the edge of the bowl...it just looked so yummy and pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I skipped the praline liqueur for this recipe and served it at a barbecue and received rave reviews. Looks pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I used angel food cake and added fresh strawberries. I also used 2 cups of milk in the pudding recipe, omitted the condensed milk and added 4 oz cream cheese. It turned out great and I have had multiple requests to make it. Thanks for a great and really easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was my first trifle-making experience and I LOVED IT! I used angel food cake instead of pound cake, and sliced it into 3 horizontal layers. I also omitted the praline liqueur. It was delicious and all my dinner guests raved about it. I will continue to use this recipe for years. Thanks, Iron Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was a delicious desert! I made a few changes though; I made Aunt Johnnies Pound cake also from this site. Then, I used fresh strawberries, blueberries and raspberries, I think fresh fruit makes a big difference. I did add more milk to the pudding mixture as others recommended. I couldn't find praline liqueur at the store, so I skipped it. Everyone at our Fathers day BBQ loved it! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This was soo delicious. I used Frangelico (Italian hazelnut liqueur), and fresh strawberries instead of the blackberries, and Entemann's butter loaf. Also, I used all milk, as suggested by someone else, and it tasted GREAT. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Ths was great. A bit on the sweet side. I used frozen blueberries, raspberries and peaches. I omitted the praline stuff (in laws don't drink) and as some mentioned I add and extra 1/2 cup of milk to the pudding. I think next time I won't use the sweetened condensed milk and use all regular insted. It was so pretty!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States