Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is always a huge hit. One word of advice...after you put the 1st layer of cake and berries down, pour half the "pudding" mixture over top, then finish with another layer and pour the rest of the pudding mixture. The mixture is too thick to reach the bottom layer if you only pour over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this last night. I used angel food cake, drizzled cherry brandy over it, 2- 16 oz bags frozen mixed berries & made the pudding mixture with 2 C milk & no condensed milk. I think it would be better with white chocolate pudding mix & maybe some cream cheese as some people have suggested. I also think it would be better layered. My husband kept asking why I wasn't layering it, he thought the way the recipe says to do it is weird. I think it could be a 5-star recipe with improvements. "Raspberry Trifle" from this site is still my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this for a family occasion. This was an easy, delicious, and attractive dessert. I also layered the cake and bluberries and raspberries and blackberries. There were many kids at my party so I omitted any alcohol and it was still delicious. I put a berry on top to top it off. I enjoyed it and so did my guests. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I followed many of the suggestions for this recipe using angel food cake, additional layering, fat free sweetened condensed milk, additional milk and whipped topping with the cheesecake pudding. I also used the amaretto liqueur. Maybe there were just too many substitutions and I should have stuck to the original recipe, but I found this very boring. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Delicious! I highly recommend that you do 3 separate layers (of cake, caramel *I skipped the liquor* drizzled, 1 kind of berry, pudding mixture). It breaks everything up into even layers and looks beautiful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by svetka69
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Just Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svetka69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Made this for our annual family picnic. What a hit! It was very easy to make and tasted great. I used sliced strawberries instead of raspberries and all the fruit was fresh, not frozen. Took other reviewers suggestions and used lite or low fat condensed milk and whipped topping. Still delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Very easy and delicious - I used fresh fruit and skipped the liqueur. I think next time I would alternate cake, berries, and pudding mixture a couple of times rather than just having all of the cake at the bottom and all of the pudding mixture at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is great. I made mine with angel food cake and reduced-fat condensed milk and whipped topping. I don't think it hurt the flavor at all. However, I thought the custard was a little too sweet and rich, so I mixed in a lot of the whipped topping to tone it down a little. I took this to a dinner and our friends LOVED it. This makes a large amount: there were six of us and we all had seconds and I still had leftovers to take home. I had some for breakfast the next day and surprisingly, it was not separated or soggy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States