Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I would rate this a 5, but I made a few changes after trying it the first time to spike up the flavors; Place the frozen berries in a bowl and sprinkle with sugar (instead of using the liquor), while those are soaking cube the poundcake & assemble custard mixture. I used 2/3 of the condensed milk and added more milk to the vanilla pudding before adding the cool whip. Use 1/3 pound cake, sprinkle berries and spoon custard over berries, countinue layers. My family said they would have like the berries to have been a little more frozen, so next time I will let it defrost for 3 hours, not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Served this as dessert on Chrismas Day. Out of this world! Did sub condensed milk for whipping cream as we don't like condensed milk sweetness. Was still good on 3rd day! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I did swap Amaretto for the praline liquor and make more layers so the pudding is on the bottom too. Otherwise... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I'd give this recipe five stars if it did not get soggy so quickly. However, this is a great recipe. I do not drink alcohol, so I always use a bit of orange juice or a bit of berry syrup (Smucker's makes one I believe) instead. I have discovered that the oj or berry syrup maximizes the flavor of the berries, whipped cream, and custard. I would recommend starting with just a little oj or berry syrup on top of the pound cake, as the cake got soggy for me the next day (and that was when I did not even put a lot of it on). This is a great crowd pleaser, but I would be hesitant about making it a day ahead - you might have a watery, gooey, mess. I will say that if you put it in the refrigerator for four to six hours after you are done assembling it, it looks and tastes divine (that is the best time to serve it for sure). This is one of my favorite desserts to serve at parties! It is a huge crowd pleaser (and it serves a TON of people too, so that's even better. ;) less work for me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My family really enjoyed this! They particularly liked the "custard", which had a great sweet taste. I used madeira cake and it went very well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe was excellent. Wanted to make a 4th of July dessert - this is what I did. Used Sour Cream Pound Cake III from this site for the prepared cake (but only used half the cake and froze the rest to use later). Cube the cake and place half in bottom of bowl, top with half of the fresh blueberries & strawberries, pour half the pudding mix over it then repeat the layers. Top with whip cream. Skipped the liqueur - didn't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
this was very delicious!! i added sweet cherries and doubled the pudding mixture because i wanted it to be extra moist. it was finished in no time and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teegee
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I used this recipe as a base, but I guess I ought to submit my own, since it hardly resembled the original. Instead of pound cake, I used vanilla cake mix (didn't take all of both layers). I also used 2 boxes of cheesecake pudding, mixed with 1 3/4 C milk and folded in fresh whipped cream (with a bit of sugar and vanilla). Like others, I also used fresh berries and layered it instead of dumping it all on top. You really can't mess up this type of trifle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teegee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Good but not the most attractive! I used a little chocolate liquor instead of the recommended kind. I would use more berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Made this for a bbq last week and it was a big hit!! I didn't use the prailine liquor and it still came out just fine! I will make this one again! The custard filling is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Caves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Heber, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States