Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Great dessert. I used an Absolutely Almond pound cake from Tastefully Simple, 1 cup of milk and the sweetened sliced strawberries following others suggestions. It was a hit at my party and I left with an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used tastefully simple almond cake in this and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This recipe was excellent. I added a drop of lemon extract to the pudding mixture as well as the cool whip - the hint of lemon worked well with the berries. Also, I couldn't find praline liquor, so I made a simple syrup and added a teaspoon of hazelnut liquor to it (and I used a bit more than the recommended 2 teaspoon sprinkling over the berries). This was wonderful - I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this for my sisters 40th birthday party. What a hit! I received so many compliments! I used frozen strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries. Could not find praline liquer in my small town, so used the "juices" from the fruit - worked just as well. I topped with a couple of fresh mint leaves....AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabasc0Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ford City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I whipped up real whipping cream because I hate the manufactured taste of cool whip. I also layered this whole things so that all the cake wasn't on the bottom, and all the fruit was on top. I started with the pound cake, then the pudding, then the berries, then the whip cream. I did this sequence 3 times. Then for the very top, I garnished the final layer of whipping cream with a few whole strawberries & raspberris, and a couple mint leaves. Looked gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
You just can't go wrong with this recipe!! A hit with everyone--I make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I brought this to a barbeque and everyone raved about how good it was. I used fresh strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries, and also 2 bananas. My husband asked me to make another the next day so we would have some to eat at home. Very Good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This one was a hit! We made this for our annual Christmas party and got so many compliments on it with the requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I make this at least once every summer. I'd make it more ofter but it makes a TON! Is still very tasty a day or two later. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I would rate this a 5, but I made a few changes after trying it the first time to spike up the flavors; Place the frozen berries in a bowl and sprinkle with sugar (instead of using the liquor), while those are soaking cube the poundcake & assemble custard mixture. I used 2/3 of the condensed milk and added more milk to the vanilla pudding before adding the cool whip. Use 1/3 pound cake, sprinkle berries and spoon custard over berries, countinue layers. My family said they would have like the berries to have been a little more frozen, so next time I will let it defrost for 3 hours, not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States