Berry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I'm rating this a 5 for it's awesome potential, not becuase it was at all what I expected it to be. "Soup" is very misleading. I think I will make this often and use it to serve with plain non-fat yogurt, which will make a great snack, breakfast, or even a lunch. Right now I am eating it for lunch with plain yogurt and a cut up banana. Yum! It's very sweet and very thick -- I don't think I would eat it alone. Also, for all you first-time makers: be assured that it thickens up ALOT as it is chilling -- you do not have to get it completely thickened by cooking it (you will be cooking forever if you try). All in all, I'm very pleased with a healthy and tasty alternative, thank you for giving me something that I would never have discovered otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
My kids were lukewarm on this one, until I doubled the barley and added a couple of pureed bananas! Now, the entire family enjoys this for breakfast. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I´m dutch and this in NOT a soup. It is a breakfast meal or a dessert. I had this a lot as a kid (my mom is great fan)and I´ll give her the recipe. But I really do not understand, why you placed it with soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
No matter what fruit you use it is great and if you use less water its great with jello or ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pretty good. Adding some fresh fruit gives it a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe is great as is. I like to experiment and tried it with bananas- not so good. Although I substituted peaches & mangos for the raspberries, cherries & raisins and it was VERY good. I use half the sugar when I make this and I like it. This is a fantastic recipe to personalize after you've made it once or twice. Time consuming, but worth the effort for the price and health- factors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Berrylicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAELSTROM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very different type of recipe, great for a quick breakfast with a piece of toast or a half bagel! I liked it although I was skeptical at first when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
A good soup, but it's very sweet. Use a lot less sugar so that you're not eating so much sugar for your breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is a really nice change of pace. I especially think the cold fruit "soup" would be great on hot summer mornings. I topped it with toasted, mixed nuts and a little cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States