Berry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Great flavor. Follwed the recipe exactly (except for using a Pillsbury crust) and it tasted great. However, as some of the other reviews said it was a bit too runny. I imagine it all depends on how fresh and "JUICY" your fruit is. I also added more fruit because it seemed a little scant for that size pie. With a few adjustments this could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
The crust of this pie is the best and easiest I have tried. It is a "no fail crust. . . one I will use in all my future pie baking. The berry/rhubarb combination is a great taste too with the zesty taste of rhubarb mixed with the berries. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I made this for Easter, and it was FANTASTIC! I used frozen fruit--I forgot to buy raspberries, so I just used equal amounts of rhubarb and blackberries. It was tart and sweet: a perfect combination. I didn't want to hassle with making pie crust, so I just used a Pillsbury crust and it was still wonderful. Don't let the two day prep time deter you; it takes so little time each day that it isn't worth worrying about. Also, other than the raspberries, I followed the recipe exactly and I didn't have problems with it not filling a 9-inch pie plate or being too runny. Try it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I have made only 4 pies in my life....this one was so easy and so delicious. I cheated though and bought a pie crust. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe! I had never eaten Rhubarb until I met my husband who is from Colorado(rhubarb is not grown much in Louisiana!). He loves rhubarb so I have been searching for recipes to make him a rhubarb pie. I used 1 cup of rhubarb and then put in some crushed pineapple, strawberries, cherries and raspberries. Used a bit less sugar than called for and a bit more flour to thicken. This came out great and my husband loved it. Even my family who had never had rhubarb raved about this pie!! Thank you, thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I have baked this pie no less than 15 times, and it ALWAYS gets rave reviews. The sweet berries and tart rhubarb are the perfect mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was really good. I used a fresh rhubarb and a frozen berry mix with blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries. It was a big hit on Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Excellent! I took the other reviewers' suggestions and added more filling (including strawberries), and it came out fantastic. Maybe slightly too runny - next time I will spoon the fruit into the pie instead of pouring the fruit and juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This will definetly be made again in my house, it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Good except filling as given didn't fill the pie up too well, I had to add more. Good taste though, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States