Berry Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
These were wonderful. Went to the farmers market this weekend and had a c. of wild raspberries and 1/2 blueberries. Used 1/2c. wheat flour, other than that exactly the same! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
So wonderful!! I used wild raspberries that we picked and used whole wheat flour in place of the wheat germ. They were loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Made once exactly like recipe, turned out good but was curious to try the changes recommended. So, the next time I subbed apple sauce for oil, less sugar and frozen mixed (blueberry and strawberry) berries. Added bit of vanilla, 2 Tbsp ground flax instead of germ, and added a Tbsp of chia seeds. So awesome---- best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious. I made only a few changes. I didn't have wheat germ so I used a full cup of oatmeal as another user suggested. I used a bag of frozen berries from trader joes (very cherry blend) and they turned out great. My only suggestion would be that if you use these berries to chop them into smaller pieces and let them thaw first. They made the batter REALLY cold and I had to extend the baking time because of it. A few people said they left off the topping, but I would suggest using it. It really makes them look beautiful. Will definitely make again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
nice moist muffins, I substituted applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I changed the 1/2 cup oil for 1/2 cup of applesauce instead. Used frozen blueberries (not thawed). Did not add walnuts because I don't like them. Result - very good. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Just had 2 right out of the oven - Excellent. I substituted ground flax for the wheat germ, and Spenda for the sugars. Good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britpip
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Amazing!! I followed some other reviewers and swapped wheat germ out for more rolled oats, sugar out for brown sugar, and applesauce for vegetable oil. I also used whole wheat flour for a cup of the all-purpose flour. Finally, I added about a 1/4 tsp of both lemon zest and vanilla essence. I didn't have any blueberries so I used frozen mixed berries and crushed them first with the back of a cup measure to make the strawberries smaller. The result was incredibly sweet and delicious muffins appropriate for feeding to my one year old! In fact, I'll probably eliminate the sugar altogether next time because the fruit makes it so sweet! These won't sit around long in my house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum. Because of what I had on hand, I used a bag of frozen mixed berries, and a smashed banana to replace some of the oil. Made a great breakfast-to-go that the kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Turned this into a loaf instead of muffins, and it was SO GOOD! I had to turn the temperature down to 350 but that may just be for a loaf. I was out of wheat germ so I used flaxseed meal instead, and I don't think that changed the flavor much. I also used whole wheat flour because that's all we ever use. My 8-year-old and 2-year-old loved it, my husband and I loved it, and I love that it's so healthy with the smaller amount of sugar and the whole grains :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States