Berry Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Very easy to make. Very healthy and low fat. the only negative is that it definently tastes low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
i started making this pie and quickly realized that someone had put onion soup mix in our sour cream, so i substituted strawberry yogurt. since it turned out great, next time (will definately make it again) i'll probably use yogurt even if we do have sour cream. we topped the pie with whipped cream. the only problem with the recipe was the dough was very sticky and it took a long time to get spread over the pan because it stuck to my fingers even with flour. it was worth the effort because it was absolutely delicious. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
I thought this was a great sweet snack. I love that it is low fat. I used peaches and raspberries and I used frozen fruit. It tasted a lot like a cobbler with out all the fattening ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Wow! I loved this pie. My husband who doesnt really like custard also enjoyed this pie. I cannot tell this is low fat at all. The crust is not my favorite but still a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very simple recipe that my 11 year old made. He used a graham cracker crust and that may have been some of the difference as there seemed to be something missing flavor-wise. The custard was nice but next time we may try a traditional egg custard and see what happens. Will make it again just because our family loves berries and we need new ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Like Nalova, I found the dough mix to be quite sticky. You may want to keep the cooking spray handy so you can apply to your hands as needed for easier spreading. Or maybe add a little more baking mix to the dough mixture. It was well worth the effort -- it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was really lovely. I used a graham cracker crust because it was easier for my toddler to help make. I also used frozen berries. The custard browned beautifully. I did add some corn starch to the berries and they set up perfectly. A few berries bubbled through to the top of the custard, giving it a lovely colorful top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely love this, quick and easy, made it twice in 2 wks! I'm an absolute novice, so I admit I used a pre-made crust and added the lemon zest to the custard mixture. I bought frozen berries: raspberry, blueberry, blackberry variety and defrosted them, drained excess liquid. Everyone loved it, served best with whipped cream topping of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
WOW!! I can't believe this is low fat!! I used only raspberries, and it was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I used regular sour cream and whole eggs and it turned out great. The crust was a little cake like and the presenation wasn't pretty but it made up in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States