Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG so easy, and good! Used a mixture of the 'bottom of the bag' leftovers of frozen fruit, thawed out a bit, drained, super! I always use butter flavored Crisco sticks. The last time I made these they didn't brown as well. Also, as another reviewer said, the crust doesn't taste its best on the first day; give a day or two to develop the flavors. I have added a bit of minced ginger and some dried rosemary to the fruit filling and it really ups the flavor ante!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The kids did love it, and I liked that it wasn't overly sweet, and that it used fresh berries instead of jam. But I did think the crust lacked flavor- think it needs to be butter and not shortening, or maybe butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Aldeia Nomba, Niassa, Mozambique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
These were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I did have to alter this recipe. I had no shortening so I used stick margarine. I only had 1 cup of fresh raspberries so I also used 1 c of fresh blueberries and 2 cups of frozen cherries (thawed) to make up the difference. Not one to enjoy overly sweet treats. This was perfect. My husband preferred it warm with whipped cream on top and I like it better at room temp with a glass of milk. Either way an excellent recipe. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
These bars are awesome. A friend made them and gave me the recipe. I turned her onto allrecipes and this was one of the first recipes she tried out-so tell friends and they can turn you onto great recipes they have found as well!!! I always use blueberries-have used raspberries and a berry mix but somehow blueberries taste best to me-just my opinion. Try these bars-you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
BERRY TASTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I tell you what! If people would only make this recipe as is they would find it WONDERFUL! No tweaking! This deserves five stars!! You can try other fillings but the rasberry is far the best!! Thanks for an easy recipe! It didn't last long in my house and I've made it three times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
My sister said to give this four stars, I was only going to give it three. To me it was just o.k. I used strawberries in mine, I added more sugar, and more cinnimon per some of the other reviewers suggestions. I would probably make this again, but I think that it is lacking something, maybe a glaze or dusting of sugar on the top, I am not sure what just yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittemore, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I used strawberries in this recipe. It was OK, but I thought it was too dry and not quite sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
We thought this was just okay but have had better. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States