Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I used butter instead of shortening for the crust and diced up fresh peaches for the filling. To me they were just ok but my guests enjoyed them served warm with vanilla ice cream. I'd like to try them again with blueberries or raspberries. They did bake up very nicely & sliced & served beautifully. I agree, they need a dusting of powdered sugar or a glaze or maybe some almonds or macadamia nuts in the crust would help. I can't put my finger on it but they missed something in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Okay...first of all I used fresh blueberries and was concerned that as the blueberries gave off their juices, it would turn out to liquidy. But it was fabulous! The corn starch really did it's job. Finally a fruit bar that's not sickening sweet! It's perfect and the crumb crust and topping doesn't steal the show from the fruit...which is how it should be. I didn't feel guilty eating these at all! Wonderful recipe and super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I forgot to add the egg and these STILL turned out good! I added more cinnamon (about twice as much) and about 1 tsp. more cornstarch because my berries seemed to have a lot of liquid. I also sprinkled about 1/4 cup mini chips on the berries and mixed another 1/4 cup into the crumb mixture for the top. Getting rave reviews at work today! I wanted something reminiscent of the chocolate raspberry bars at the French Meadow Bakery in Minneapolis. These hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Took these into work and they were devoured within minutes! I took the advice of others and used butter instead of shortening and doubled the amount of sugar on the berries. Very tasty and easy to make. Next time, I will combine all of the dry ingredients first for the crust, then add the butter and egg. I will also use a food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture. This should help make the mixture a little more crumbly, like small pebbles. I had to work pretty hard to cut the butter into the flour mixture by hand! Thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I used blackberries, extra sugar mixed in the berries, and butter as suggested by reviewers, a little more cinnamon and it was perfect. The flavor really came together after sitting for a day or two, the crumb mix was kind of bland the first day, and on the third it had the best flavor. Can't wait to try it with raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I would decrease the amount of butter to 3/4 cup, and I also took out a little sugar. Made my own berry preserves for the filling too. These look very pretty when cut =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG so easy, and good! Used a mixture of the 'bottom of the bag' leftovers of frozen fruit, thawed out a bit, drained, super! I always use butter flavored Crisco sticks. The last time I made these they didn't brown as well. Also, as another reviewer said, the crust doesn't taste its best on the first day; give a day or two to develop the flavors. I have added a bit of minced ginger and some dried rosemary to the fruit filling and it really ups the flavor ante!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The kids did love it, and I liked that it wasn't overly sweet, and that it used fresh berries instead of jam. But I did think the crust lacked flavor- think it needs to be butter and not shortening, or maybe butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Aldeia Nomba, Niassa, Mozambique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
These were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I did have to alter this recipe. I had no shortening so I used stick margarine. I only had 1 cup of fresh raspberries so I also used 1 c of fresh blueberries and 2 cups of frozen cherries (thawed) to make up the difference. Not one to enjoy overly sweet treats. This was perfect. My husband preferred it warm with whipped cream on top and I like it better at room temp with a glass of milk. Either way an excellent recipe. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States