Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used fresh berries- half raspberries and half blackberries. With fresh berries, these are not too sweet which is great. Best of all, they are ridiculously easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My original intent was to make a mixed berry pie today, but laziness got the better of me and I made this instead - the point being, it is EASY - and with little effort I had something fresh, pretty and delicious! I pulsed the dry ingredients in the food processor, then pulsed in the shortening and, finally, the egg, which I beat slightly with a teaspoon of vanilla. I found this method quick, easy and it crumbled beautifully. For the fruit I used a mix of fresh blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Mine was perfectly done at 45 minutes, although I started to check it at 35. The results were perfect. Just as good as a crumb topped mixed berry pie and so much quicker to throw together. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really simple. Great for breakfast or dessert! I used butter instead of shortening and I used frozen mixed berries. I might try to use more berries next time because I love berries and 3 cups didn't seem to be quite enough. But is was super scrumptious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GORDONDE75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
These are so good if you like raspberries! I took them to a group meeting and everyone liked them. I don't think I changed a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Finally a berry recipe my husband likes! I love baking with berries, so I persisted with trying several recipes before I was willing to give up and concede not to keep using our berries for treats. Well, he liked these... and I did too. I used mixed frozen berries (from Costco) and the dessert came out perfectly. Next time I'll either add vanilla or almond extract to the dough, to give it a bit more flavor, but they're okay without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are quite tasty! I used mixed berries - strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. I think if I made these again, I would use 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar in the crumb base and topping. I think peaches would taste amazing in this. Another great thing is that it's super easy, and I think it literally took me 5 minutes to whip together and throw in the oven. Great for a busy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Quick, easy, not to many ingredients,don't have to bring the raspberries to a boil, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It was breakfast day at my work and I was excited to make these crumb bars. I'm not too much of a fan with berries, but I used strawberries instead of the blackberries. My bars went fast. The crumb crust was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to make these again, so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
halved the recipe. used butter instead of shortening and added a handful of choco chips. was wonderful end to a mediocre meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was so easy and I was the talk of the party when I brought them! As mentioned before, I sifted the dry together first, then cut in the fat and finished by cutting in the egg. I used butter as well and split the dough into four so that I could make two different fruit types. I used canned pineapple that I slightly crushed and blueberry pie filling for the second, adjusting the sugar on the blueberry filling because I didn't want them to be too sweet. I baked two batches in 8 x 8 baking dishes and they came out wonderful! Thanks, I will definately make again! Next I will try apples and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States