Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this without changing anything and I'm sure it turned out exactly as it is supposed to.The texture and taste were pretty good,they just weren't sweet enough for me,the crusts were bland and grainy.Seemed more like a breakfast bar than a dessert.I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Do yourself a favor and keep this recipe handy. I have made it several times. I've used raspberries, blueberries, peaches, nectarines; alone and in various combinations depending on what I had on hand. I made two changes. 1. use butter, not shortening it ups the flavor greatly. 2. Add vanilla and/or almond extract...both tend to bring out the best in most fruits. If you add almond go light it is strong...you can never have too much vanilla. Due to a friends allergy I have also made it without the egg...still awesome the crust was just more cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Made just as described, no changes. Used fresh currants as the fruit of choice. It was tart, but I think that is because thats the way currants are. I do not think that is fault of recipe, raspberries or another fruit would be sweeter to begin with. I did compensate for the tartness by drizzling an icing randomly over the top. Then it was delicious! This should be good with raspberries. Don't mess with the cornstarch, btw, it was perfect amount for a juicy fruit like currants are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These were delish!! I did use blueberries (my raspberry patch was all out.)And I used brown sugar with the blueberry/cornstarch mixture.Lastly I ran out of white flour, so I had to use about a cup of whole wheat.Mine were perfectly cooked at about 40mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I think the crust was fine. Used the food processor for the dough as others suggested.Put a little more than half the crust mixture for the bottom and then mixed the remaining crust with a little brown sugar and oatmeal for the crumble top. I did cut down the sugar for the berry mixture, which was a mistake because it was not sweet enough. For some reason, I kept thinking these bars need an additional cream cheese filling (like cheesecake consistency maybe?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
SO DISAPPOINTED! I had high hopes for this recipe based on other reviews, but it was very bland; most likely, because of the use of shortening. The bottom crust was crunchy after the 45 minute cooking time and the top was barely golden. The blue berry mixture was good because the fresh blue berries were so big and ripe, but were wasted because of the tasteless "cumb" crusts. Sorry, not a good one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and the crumb/crust part was great. I decided to use blackberries instead of raspberries and I think that was a mistake. I didn't like that the seeds were so big and hard to chew. Next time I'll definitely use raspberries or even blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have tried this recipe numerous times. I have halved this recipe simply by using only the egg white. I have also used frozen berries - just thaw completely in a colander to drain away excess fluid. I have also used butter instead of shortening - 1 c of butter for the 1 c of shortening. Wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very easy recipe. A little tart but tasty. We were a little impatient and didn't let it cool before trying it and wish had after having our second helping which tasted less tart after it had a chance to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I didn't have any raspberries on hand so I used 3 1/2 cups of frozen mixed berries and 1/2 c. frozen cranberries and added a 1/4c. extra sugar due to the tartness of my berries. It was awesome. I also made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of crumb mix because I love a little extra and the recipe didn't seem to make enough for my taste. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States