Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I barely followed the right amount of ingredients, I made half a batch and didn't measure anything, they still came out great, I used frozen mixed berries and fresh raspberries. It wasn't overly sweet at all and unbelievably easy to make with no mess! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made one addition, and that's chocolate chips. I'd had almost this exact cookie as a kid from an amazing local bakery, and adding those chocolate chips in with the raspberries really brought it home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Weiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These were very good. These weren't to sweet and are great with a cup of tea. I did use blackberries and blueberries...good combination. My whole family loved them. I'll definatly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The filling was too soft and runny to eat these as a bar cookie. They were also very tart, even after I put icing on them to help sweeten them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It looked really good on the outside, but when we tasted it, it was so bland and lacking a lot. I couldn't quite pinpoint what, but I won't use this recipe again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie :0)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I LOVED IT! I made mine with some Strawberry Jam I made and Mango Jam my mom made. It was really good. I didn't really think it would be so good. It made up for everything bad I have ever cooked. hehe Thank you for posting it.. Yummm EE :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
YUM!... made this for a family reunion... I caught my cousin licking the pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Came upon this recipe while looking for one using blackberries (my granddaughter was begging me to take her blackberry picking) & noticed that others had adapted it for different kinds of berries. While making it I discovered that an extra 1/2 cup of berries was needed to make a single layer in the pan, I used 3/4 cup sugar as blackberries are more sour than raspberries & since other reviewers had complained of a bland flavored crust/crumbles I used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening. The berry mixture was still a bit tart & the crust/crumble mixture a bit sweet for my personal taste (next time I'll use 1 cup sugar for the blackberries & 3/4 cup sugar for the crust) but all in all a wonderful recipe that I'll make again & again with whatever fruit is in season here in the Pacific Northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Everybody really enjoyed these bars. I did use butter rather than shortening just due to personal preference. Mine was blueberry and sweetness level was just fine. Next time I will probably add a bit more cinnamon just, again, due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It's excellent! I put 6 cups of berries in mine. I used raspberries, black raspberries, and blue berries. It turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States