Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent! I used butter and only 2 cups of flour and 1 cup of quick oats. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Don't change this recipe! It's PERFECT! Yum, yum, YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Yummy! Easy to make, and they smell heavenly while baking! I used all butter instead of shortening for flavor. I was tempted to add vanilla or almond extract, but these are yummy without either. I used what fruit I had on hand...a 10 oz bag of frozen raspberries, 2 cups diced peaches and about 1/2 cup of raspberry jam, just to be sure I had enough of a fruit-to-crust ratio. Baking time was right-on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this yesterday for supper and my family really enjoyed it! It is such a quick and easy recipe...and we all equated it to a crumble pie....and because I have never made a pie crust, this recipe is perfect and can now be my go-to pie substitute. I took others suggestion of using butter instead of shortening, and I used a canned strawberry pie filling for my trial run, but I look forward to trying this with a variety of frozen fruits I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These are SO good! We have lots of blueberry bushes and I'm always looking for ways to use up the ones from the freezer. Particularly this time of year when I know that the fresh ones are right around the corner. These fit the bill perfectly. I added a bit more sugar to the berries and used brown sugar for the crust and added a whole extra tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made mine with 1/2 brown sugar substitute from splenda and half sugar. I did not care for the crust and topping much, would have preferred a graham cracker crust or cobbler crust. Filling was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
At first I thought these might crumble and fall apart. They baked beautifully. The recipe is just fine as written. I always keep a big bag of frozen berries from the large warehouse store in my freezer. The raspberries, blueberries, and boysenberries made for a perfect filling. To error on the sweet side, I sprinkled a bit more granulated sugar over the berries once they were spread evenly over the crust. The bake time was perfect for a light golden topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Super easy and absolutely fantastic! The family loves them! I did mine with Strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written, except substituting margarine for the shortening, which I didn't have on hand. It turned out wonderfully, not too dry, just perfect. I used blackberries, but I think any berry would work. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These sound very yummy but I would not call them "economical" due to the cost of fresh raspberries! However, I love that they are so versatile and others have said various fruits can be used as well. We do grow our own blackberries so I think I'll try this with those. Thanks for the tip ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States