Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It was breakfast day at my work and I was excited to make these crumb bars. I'm not too much of a fan with berries, but I used strawberries instead of the blackberries. My bars went fast. The crumb crust was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to make these again, so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
halved the recipe. used butter instead of shortening and added a handful of choco chips. was wonderful end to a mediocre meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was so easy and I was the talk of the party when I brought them! As mentioned before, I sifted the dry together first, then cut in the fat and finished by cutting in the egg. I used butter as well and split the dough into four so that I could make two different fruit types. I used canned pineapple that I slightly crushed and blueberry pie filling for the second, adjusting the sugar on the blueberry filling because I didn't want them to be too sweet. I baked two batches in 8 x 8 baking dishes and they came out wonderful! Thanks, I will definately make again! Next I will try apples and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I used butter instead of shortening for the crust and diced up fresh peaches for the filling. To me they were just ok but my guests enjoyed them served warm with vanilla ice cream. I'd like to try them again with blueberries or raspberries. They did bake up very nicely & sliced & served beautifully. I agree, they need a dusting of powdered sugar or a glaze or maybe some almonds or macadamia nuts in the crust would help. I can't put my finger on it but they missed something in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Okay...first of all I used fresh blueberries and was concerned that as the blueberries gave off their juices, it would turn out to liquidy. But it was fabulous! The corn starch really did it's job. Finally a fruit bar that's not sickening sweet! It's perfect and the crumb crust and topping doesn't steal the show from the fruit...which is how it should be. I didn't feel guilty eating these at all! Wonderful recipe and super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I forgot to add the egg and these STILL turned out good! I added more cinnamon (about twice as much) and about 1 tsp. more cornstarch because my berries seemed to have a lot of liquid. I also sprinkled about 1/4 cup mini chips on the berries and mixed another 1/4 cup into the crumb mixture for the top. Getting rave reviews at work today! I wanted something reminiscent of the chocolate raspberry bars at the French Meadow Bakery in Minneapolis. These hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Took these into work and they were devoured within minutes! I took the advice of others and used butter instead of shortening and doubled the amount of sugar on the berries. Very tasty and easy to make. Next time, I will combine all of the dry ingredients first for the crust, then add the butter and egg. I will also use a food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture. This should help make the mixture a little more crumbly, like small pebbles. I had to work pretty hard to cut the butter into the flour mixture by hand! Thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I used blackberries, extra sugar mixed in the berries, and butter as suggested by reviewers, a little more cinnamon and it was perfect. The flavor really came together after sitting for a day or two, the crumb mix was kind of bland the first day, and on the third it had the best flavor. Can't wait to try it with raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I would decrease the amount of butter to 3/4 cup, and I also took out a little sugar. Made my own berry preserves for the filling too. These look very pretty when cut =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG so easy, and good! Used a mixture of the 'bottom of the bag' leftovers of frozen fruit, thawed out a bit, drained, super! I always use butter flavored Crisco sticks. The last time I made these they didn't brown as well. Also, as another reviewer said, the crust doesn't taste its best on the first day; give a day or two to develop the flavors. I have added a bit of minced ginger and some dried rosemary to the fruit filling and it really ups the flavor ante!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States