Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used fresh berries- half raspberries and half blackberries. With fresh berries, these are not too sweet which is great. Best of all, they are ridiculously easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My original intent was to make a mixed berry pie today, but laziness got the better of me and I made this instead - the point being, it is EASY - and with little effort I had something fresh, pretty and delicious! I pulsed the dry ingredients in the food processor, then pulsed in the shortening and, finally, the egg, which I beat slightly with a teaspoon of vanilla. I found this method quick, easy and it crumbled beautifully. For the fruit I used a mix of fresh blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Mine was perfectly done at 45 minutes, although I started to check it at 35. The results were perfect. Just as good as a crumb topped mixed berry pie and so much quicker to throw together. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really simple. Great for breakfast or dessert! I used butter instead of shortening and I used frozen mixed berries. I might try to use more berries next time because I love berries and 3 cups didn't seem to be quite enough. But is was super scrumptious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GORDONDE75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
These are so good if you like raspberries! I took them to a group meeting and everyone liked them. I don't think I changed a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Finally a berry recipe my husband likes! I love baking with berries, so I persisted with trying several recipes before I was willing to give up and concede not to keep using our berries for treats. Well, he liked these... and I did too. I used mixed frozen berries (from Costco) and the dessert came out perfectly. Next time I'll either add vanilla or almond extract to the dough, to give it a bit more flavor, but they're okay without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are quite tasty! I used mixed berries - strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. I think if I made these again, I would use 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar in the crumb base and topping. I think peaches would taste amazing in this. Another great thing is that it's super easy, and I think it literally took me 5 minutes to whip together and throw in the oven. Great for a busy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Quick, easy, not to many ingredients,don't have to bring the raspberries to a boil, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It was breakfast day at my work and I was excited to make these crumb bars. I'm not too much of a fan with berries, but I used strawberries instead of the blackberries. My bars went fast. The crumb crust was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to make these again, so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
halved the recipe. used butter instead of shortening and added a handful of choco chips. was wonderful end to a mediocre meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was so easy and I was the talk of the party when I brought them! As mentioned before, I sifted the dry together first, then cut in the fat and finished by cutting in the egg. I used butter as well and split the dough into four so that I could make two different fruit types. I used canned pineapple that I slightly crushed and blueberry pie filling for the second, adjusting the sugar on the blueberry filling because I didn't want them to be too sweet. I baked two batches in 8 x 8 baking dishes and they came out wonderful! Thanks, I will definately make again! Next I will try apples and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States