Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This recipe is YUMMY! I made the substitutions: -Butter instead of shortening. -1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar in the crust mixture. -I used about 5 cups of fruit - strawberries, blackberries and blueberries. -1 cup of brown sugar with the fruit and cornstarch. Next time I will use the entire crust mixture on the bottom and then make a 1/2 batch to put on top. It just needs a little more crust on the bottom for my taste and because of the extra fruit quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nwgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Simple recipe and end results were awesome. Used mixed frozen berries (frozen berries, no sugar added), consisting of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Used butter instead of shortening, just because. Also added a tsp of almond extract to the crumb mixter and brown sugar to the topping. Cut them into small bars after they cooled and they are so incredibly yummy. Hubby and I both agree, FIVE STARS! I will absolutely make them again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Good but needed to change a few things: Omitted Cinnamon added 2 teaspoon vanilla; Omitted shortening added butter; Omitted 1 cup white sugar and changed it to 1 cup brown sugar (Keep 1/2 cup of white sugar that will go over berries but needed to increased it slightly if your berries are not real sweet ); and increased salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Cooking time was fine. Can use strawberries or blueberries instead of raspberries too. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have made these a couple of times and everyone loves them. very easy to make and you can control the sweetness by not adding as much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this without changing anything and I'm sure it turned out exactly as it is supposed to.The texture and taste were pretty good,they just weren't sweet enough for me,the crusts were bland and grainy.Seemed more like a breakfast bar than a dessert.I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Do yourself a favor and keep this recipe handy. I have made it several times. I've used raspberries, blueberries, peaches, nectarines; alone and in various combinations depending on what I had on hand. I made two changes. 1. use butter, not shortening it ups the flavor greatly. 2. Add vanilla and/or almond extract...both tend to bring out the best in most fruits. If you add almond go light it is strong...you can never have too much vanilla. Due to a friends allergy I have also made it without the egg...still awesome the crust was just more cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Made just as described, no changes. Used fresh currants as the fruit of choice. It was tart, but I think that is because thats the way currants are. I do not think that is fault of recipe, raspberries or another fruit would be sweeter to begin with. I did compensate for the tartness by drizzling an icing randomly over the top. Then it was delicious! This should be good with raspberries. Don't mess with the cornstarch, btw, it was perfect amount for a juicy fruit like currants are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These were delish!! I did use blueberries (my raspberry patch was all out.)And I used brown sugar with the blueberry/cornstarch mixture.Lastly I ran out of white flour, so I had to use about a cup of whole wheat.Mine were perfectly cooked at about 40mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I think the crust was fine. Used the food processor for the dough as others suggested.Put a little more than half the crust mixture for the bottom and then mixed the remaining crust with a little brown sugar and oatmeal for the crumble top. I did cut down the sugar for the berry mixture, which was a mistake because it was not sweet enough. For some reason, I kept thinking these bars need an additional cream cheese filling (like cheesecake consistency maybe?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
SO DISAPPOINTED! I had high hopes for this recipe based on other reviews, but it was very bland; most likely, because of the use of shortening. The bottom crust was crunchy after the 45 minute cooking time and the top was barely golden. The blue berry mixture was good because the fresh blue berries were so big and ripe, but were wasted because of the tasteless "cumb" crusts. Sorry, not a good one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States