Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Scrumptious, easy to make what more could you ask for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Served to Yorks. Better than crisp, more pastry like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I considered making a pie today until I came across this recipe. I put more fruit in than the recipe calls for, approximately 6 cups. 2 cups each of strawberries, blueberries and raspberries. I added a half cup of oatmeal to the top crumble and used a half/half combination of shortening and butter. It is delicious. My husband says it's not as good as a pie but I disagree. It was also a lot less work than pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
The crust needs more flavor. will add vanilla and more cinnamon to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent! I did add just a bit more sugar to my berries just because they were super tart frozen (well defrosted) berries and I knew they would need it, but this recipe is perfect! Yum! Will surely make again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is probably the best cobbler recipe I havw run across. I don't think it really needs much in the way of changes, but I made some anyway: used butter (of course), reduced the sugar in the dough by 1/4 cup, used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one of white, used a mix of fresh berries (very ripe), and added more than a pinch of cinnamon and added a touch of mace. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This recipe is YUMMY! I made the substitutions: -Butter instead of shortening. -1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar in the crust mixture. -I used about 5 cups of fruit - strawberries, blackberries and blueberries. -1 cup of brown sugar with the fruit and cornstarch. Next time I will use the entire crust mixture on the bottom and then make a 1/2 batch to put on top. It just needs a little more crust on the bottom for my taste and because of the extra fruit quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nwgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Simple recipe and end results were awesome. Used mixed frozen berries (frozen berries, no sugar added), consisting of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Used butter instead of shortening, just because. Also added a tsp of almond extract to the crumb mixter and brown sugar to the topping. Cut them into small bars after they cooled and they are so incredibly yummy. Hubby and I both agree, FIVE STARS! I will absolutely make them again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Good but needed to change a few things: Omitted Cinnamon added 2 teaspoon vanilla; Omitted shortening added butter; Omitted 1 cup white sugar and changed it to 1 cup brown sugar (Keep 1/2 cup of white sugar that will go over berries but needed to increased it slightly if your berries are not real sweet ); and increased salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Cooking time was fine. Can use strawberries or blueberries instead of raspberries too. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have made these a couple of times and everyone loves them. very easy to make and you can control the sweetness by not adding as much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States