Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made one addition, and that's chocolate chips. I'd had almost this exact cookie as a kid from an amazing local bakery, and adding those chocolate chips in with the raspberries really brought it home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These were very good. These weren't to sweet and are great with a cup of tea. I did use blackberries and blueberries...good combination. My whole family loved them. I'll definatly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The filling was too soft and runny to eat these as a bar cookie. They were also very tart, even after I put icing on them to help sweeten them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It looked really good on the outside, but when we tasted it, it was so bland and lacking a lot. I couldn't quite pinpoint what, but I won't use this recipe again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie :0)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I LOVED IT! I made mine with some Strawberry Jam I made and Mango Jam my mom made. It was really good. I didn't really think it would be so good. It made up for everything bad I have ever cooked. hehe Thank you for posting it.. Yummm EE :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
YUM!... made this for a family reunion... I caught my cousin licking the pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Came upon this recipe while looking for one using blackberries (my granddaughter was begging me to take her blackberry picking) & noticed that others had adapted it for different kinds of berries. While making it I discovered that an extra 1/2 cup of berries was needed to make a single layer in the pan, I used 3/4 cup sugar as blackberries are more sour than raspberries & since other reviewers had complained of a bland flavored crust/crumbles I used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening. The berry mixture was still a bit tart & the crust/crumble mixture a bit sweet for my personal taste (next time I'll use 1 cup sugar for the blackberries & 3/4 cup sugar for the crust) but all in all a wonderful recipe that I'll make again & again with whatever fruit is in season here in the Pacific Northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Everybody really enjoyed these bars. I did use butter rather than shortening just due to personal preference. Mine was blueberry and sweetness level was just fine. Next time I will probably add a bit more cinnamon just, again, due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It's excellent! I put 6 cups of berries in mine. I used raspberries, black raspberries, and blue berries. It turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Make it just like the reciepe states and you can not go wrong...I have my own Raspberries plants and needed a reciepe and tried this one... and I am glad I did! thanks Jan Taylor very good reciepe... I am going to try a different berry next time maybe even Plums let you all know how it turns out..Kim Thomas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States