Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I loved these! They're addicting. I ate four on the first day I made them. I made them pretty close to the directions. I did not substitute for butter or use more sugar. I used a blueberry/raspberry/blackberry mix. The only thing I will recommend: do not use frozen fruit. I was in the freezer section looking for frozen cranberries when i realized I would have to switch to this recipe, so I just grabbed the bag mix. Everything turned out okay, but I did drain a lot of liquid after thawing the berries and was concerned with how it would effect the sugar and cornstarch. They still turned out great, I love that berry combo, but I will definitely use fresh next time. I prefer fresh, I was just too lazy to walk all the way to the other side of the store again. Oh, and I did substitute half the sugar for Truvia in both the crust and berries, just to cut down on sugar and calories. Again, they tasted great, so for those of you watching your sugar intake, there is no problem substituting at least some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent! I used butter and only 2 cups of flour and 1 cup of quick oats. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Don't change this recipe! It's PERFECT! Yum, yum, YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Yummy! Easy to make, and they smell heavenly while baking! I used all butter instead of shortening for flavor. I was tempted to add vanilla or almond extract, but these are yummy without either. I used what fruit I had on hand...a 10 oz bag of frozen raspberries, 2 cups diced peaches and about 1/2 cup of raspberry jam, just to be sure I had enough of a fruit-to-crust ratio. Baking time was right-on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this yesterday for supper and my family really enjoyed it! It is such a quick and easy recipe...and we all equated it to a crumble pie....and because I have never made a pie crust, this recipe is perfect and can now be my go-to pie substitute. I took others suggestion of using butter instead of shortening, and I used a canned strawberry pie filling for my trial run, but I look forward to trying this with a variety of frozen fruits I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These are SO good! We have lots of blueberry bushes and I'm always looking for ways to use up the ones from the freezer. Particularly this time of year when I know that the fresh ones are right around the corner. These fit the bill perfectly. I added a bit more sugar to the berries and used brown sugar for the crust and added a whole extra tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made mine with 1/2 brown sugar substitute from splenda and half sugar. I did not care for the crust and topping much, would have preferred a graham cracker crust or cobbler crust. Filling was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
At first I thought these might crumble and fall apart. They baked beautifully. The recipe is just fine as written. I always keep a big bag of frozen berries from the large warehouse store in my freezer. The raspberries, blueberries, and boysenberries made for a perfect filling. To error on the sweet side, I sprinkled a bit more granulated sugar over the berries once they were spread evenly over the crust. The bake time was perfect for a light golden topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Super easy and absolutely fantastic! The family loves them! I did mine with Strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written, except substituting margarine for the shortening, which I didn't have on hand. It turned out wonderfully, not too dry, just perfect. I used blackberries, but I think any berry would work. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States