Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times over the past 3weeks. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this for a work function and it was a huge hit! The tart from the berries really made these bars awesome. I did add a twist to my second batch - a cheesecake layer on top of the berries before sprinkling the crumbs. Sooooo good I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
YUM! This recipe is amazing! I have been making it for almost a year and always get rave reviews. I use two fresh square packages each of blueberries and raspberries (so four total) and one package of blueberries. I also add extra cinnamon to the top before putting it in the oven. Absolutely wonderful. People are always asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Excellent!! I ended up using the entire crumb mixture on the bottom and making another half batch for the topping. I also added an extra 1.5 cups of frozen mixed berries. My berries came straight out of the freezer and into the mix baked up perfect!! Family couldn't stop coming back for more! If your worried it's not enough cinnamon (I love cinnamon) try the recipe first because it is a gentle taste but absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I picked fresh raspberries this summer and was looking for a great recipe. I found it! I did not alter it at all. I made it with both red and black raspberries. I even made it after I had frozen some of the berries and plan on making some for xmas !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly A. Long

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
followed other reviewers' advice about using 1/2 butter/1/2 shortening. Made for a potluck using frozen mixed berries - at first I thought the filling tasted too much like a Pop-Tart but everyone loved them and I've made it for several potlucks since then. edited to add: several batches later, my favorite recipe tweaks: in addition to substituting butter for the shortening, add about a tsp. of lemon juice to the berries. I like to heat the berry/sugar/cornstarch mixture on the stove until it gets a little syrupy before pouring it onto the crumbly dough layer. BTW super-easy way to prep the dough is to use a food processor - pulse until the ingredients are mixed but still crumbly - don't worry, even though it looks sorta powdery, it *does* bake into a nice shortbread-ish base for the berries :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Add huckleberries and peaches to the raspberries, and voila, pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama sher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These are absolutely divine! Instead of using raspberries, I used strawberries, and they still came out amazingly. My mom, teachers, and classmates all agreed that these were awesome! I really hope to make these again for my fellow drum majors and band directors for football season ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This dessert was just so so. I don't like raspberries so I used blueberries and strawberries. Wasn't very sweet, kinda bland. Butter may have been a better choice than shortening. Although I'm not a big fan of berry type desserts. Others may like it a lot. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Made this while camping. I didn't think fresh raspberries would travel well so I used natural raspberry jam. It still came out awesome, the crust was very much like shortbread. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States