Berry Cordial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
We have made this using a variety of fruit. Strawberries, Raspberries, Cranberries and pears. It is wonderful. The raspberry and strawberry mixed with lemonade on a hot summer day is very tasty. We now have a batch going with sour and sweet cherries and swapped out the vodka for Canadian Whiskey. Homemade cherry whiskey, can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was fabulous & will make an excellent Xmas gift. A few helpful notes: 1. No need to sterilize or process jars due to high alcohol content- just use clean jars, pour boiling water over jars & lids to thoroughly clean before proceeding. 2. Vodka is great & provides a cleaner berry taste. Rum is also great, but use a high quality rum for smoother taste. 3. For a really clear end product, strain through 4 layers of cheesecloth then a new coffee filter for each 1/2 quart as filter will get clogged. 4. Freeze the berries for ice cream topping etc - they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I just made this, so I'll have to come back in two months to review the flavor. My 3 stars is based on how easy it was to make, but how the directions should really say "2 quart" jar. I needed to use two 1 quart Mason jars to make the full recipe. **2 months later** Upgrading to five stars, because this tastes AMAZING. Mixed half and half with lemonade over ice, it is dangerously good. I'm going to start another batch again soon so I don't have to go too long without it in the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this lots of times. This year I am using cranberries and bringing it to my family's house for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skolatnite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is an easy basis for a liqueur. Note that Cordial is just another name for "liqueur." I used a bit less vodka, because a quart doesn't necessarily fit in a quart jar when it is filled with berries and sugar. But I ended up making about 3 jars of the stuff. Two months was an excellent aging time. What a treat to have an explosion of blackberry flavor in october/november? Plus, the liqueur will last indefinitely at room temperature if properly corked or sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very easy and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is wonderful. I even fudged on the amounts of berries/vodka and it turned out great (we used blueberries and now we're trying cherries)! It is delicious and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Nakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Since sealing means different things to different people. Please explain the process. Is it a hot water bath seal? And for how long? I have imagined that 20 minutes at a rolling boil would cook the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I added half a vanilla bean to this. I also used tequila and chocolate powder in place of the vodka and fruit. I've also used a combination of blackberry and cherry with the vanilla bean. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
We are enjoying an occasional sip of this. My frozen berries were very old, but the taste is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States