Berry Burst Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Excellent! I changed this a little -- I used strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, sugar instead of Splenda, and half & half. It turned out great. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to a 1/2 cup if I use strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Great! I put 3/4c sugar, all strawberries and fat free 1/2 and 1/2. IT was wonderful, but a little too sweet. Next time put maybe 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
We got a ice cream maker for Christmas. This was the first recipe i tried and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is so good! I used 3/4 cup regular white sugar with the 1 cup water and a bag of frozen mixed fruit with the heavy cream and it was so good. It froze perfectly in the freezer after I took it out of the ice cream maker. Will make this a lot over the summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoleneMiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! The texture and the taste was wonderful. I LOVE rasberry sorbet so instead of blackberries and blueberries, I only used raspberries. Also I used regular white sugar. I also used heavy whipped cream, but for my next batch I am going to omit it for more of a sorbet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
WOW!!! This was excellent. I just used raspberries which I picked in my garden and froze. Even the grandkids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT & BEAUTIFUL color sorbet. I used fresh raspberries that I picked yesterday. Also used 1 cup of regular sugar instead of the Splenda. Then followed the rest of the directions. In my opinion, this recipe wasn't too sweet for me with the full cup of sugar. I will make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I did make a couple changes though. I substituted all the berries for 3 1/2 cups blueberries and after reading some reviews I made a simple syrup out of 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup white sugar. I did add the heavy cream and I'm glad I did. It made the sorbet have a rich, smooth taste. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I just made this berry sorbet!!! OMG I used only 3/4 cup sugar and 1 cup of water which I warmed on the stove to dissolve the sugar and then cooled. Mixed the berries with the sugar syrup and added my homemade yogurt instead of heavy cream. It's in the freezer getting nice and thick. Will surprise my DH tonight. Will definitely make this all summer. I always have frozen berries in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Here is one way to test for sweetness: "Egg Test for Sorbet. The best sorbets are made not by exact measurements, but rather by balancing the sweetness of a particular batch of fruit to assure the best flavor and consistency. Too much sugar will prevent the sorbet from freezing and will overwhelm the fruit; too little makes an unpleasantly tart, icy sorbet. To achieve the optimal balance, rinse a raw egg and carefully drop it, in its shell, into the fruit mixture. When the mixture is in balance, the egg will be partially floating, exposing a circle the size of a dime to a nickel above the surface." (Tip from food website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States