Berry Burst Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Here is one way to test for sweetness: "Egg Test for Sorbet. The best sorbets are made not by exact measurements, but rather by balancing the sweetness of a particular batch of fruit to assure the best flavor and consistency. Too much sugar will prevent the sorbet from freezing and will overwhelm the fruit; too little makes an unpleasantly tart, icy sorbet. To achieve the optimal balance, rinse a raw egg and carefully drop it, in its shell, into the fruit mixture. When the mixture is in balance, the egg will be partially floating, exposing a circle the size of a dime to a nickel above the surface." (Tip from food website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Refreshing and tasty! I made a simple syrup with a half cup water, half cup sugar, heating until dissolved, and opted for a true sorbet by omitting the cream - although it would make a very nice frozen dessert with it. I always taste the fruit first, and since my berries were sweet I knew the reduced sugar would work in this. I pureed the blueberries, raspberries and blackberries in my blender - maybe a food processor would grind the seeds better, but I definitely needed to strain the mixture to get the seeds out. It was a little soft when done - perhaps because I used fresh instead of frozen fruit? - but I popped it in the freezer for about 20 minutes and ended up with the firmer texture I was looking for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is so good! I used 3/4 cup regular white sugar with the 1 cup water and a bag of frozen mixed fruit with the heavy cream and it was so good. It froze perfectly in the freezer after I took it out of the ice cream maker. Will make this a lot over the summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoleneMiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Excellent! I changed this a little -- I used strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, sugar instead of Splenda, and half & half. It turned out great. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to a 1/2 cup if I use strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a very good combination of flavors. Being a Splenda user, I believed the 1 cup quantity was too much so I cut it back to 1/2 cup. For my taste, that seemed about right. The second time I made this, I used 1 cup vanilla yogurt and that is awesome! Thank you for this recipe, Pamela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Maybe SPLENDA isn't the best idea for sorbets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this sorbet with all blackberries since I had so many left over from baking a pie. I used organic sugar instead of Splenda and it came out awesome! I will use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! The texture and the taste was wonderful. I LOVE rasberry sorbet so instead of blackberries and blueberries, I only used raspberries. Also I used regular white sugar. I also used heavy whipped cream, but for my next batch I am going to omit it for more of a sorbet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe is *very* sweet; unless you have an incredible sweet tooth, cut the Splenda down to about 3/4 cup, or add a couple tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States