Berry Burst Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Here is one way to test for sweetness: "Egg Test for Sorbet. The best sorbets are made not by exact measurements, but rather by balancing the sweetness of a particular batch of fruit to assure the best flavor and consistency. Too much sugar will prevent the sorbet from freezing and will overwhelm the fruit; too little makes an unpleasantly tart, icy sorbet. To achieve the optimal balance, rinse a raw egg and carefully drop it, in its shell, into the fruit mixture. When the mixture is in balance, the egg will be partially floating, exposing a circle the size of a dime to a nickel above the surface." (Tip from food website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Made according to recipe, only adding 1 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice and subtracting one tbsp. of water from the cup of water. I felt the finished product was a little too sweet but my boys liked it as is. Next time, I'd like to cut the sweet in half and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this with 1/2 cup Splenda and 1 cup water, and left out the heavy cream. It was still way too sweet. If I make it again, I will leave the sugar out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I just made this berry sorbet!!! OMG I used only 3/4 cup sugar and 1 cup of water which I warmed on the stove to dissolve the sugar and then cooled. Mixed the berries with the sugar syrup and added my homemade yogurt instead of heavy cream. It's in the freezer getting nice and thick. Will surprise my DH tonight. Will definitely make this all summer. I always have frozen berries in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I did make a couple changes though. I substituted all the berries for 3 1/2 cups blueberries and after reading some reviews I made a simple syrup out of 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup white sugar. I did add the heavy cream and I'm glad I did. It made the sorbet have a rich, smooth taste. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was a great base, but 1C sugar (or splenda) would be too much. Per other reviews, I only used about 1/2C and thought it was perfect. Just taste as you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
rather tasty i used mixed berries and 3/4 cup of sugar. Next time i think i will put into Popsicle molds because it froze up so hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Great! I put 3/4c sugar, all strawberries and fat free 1/2 and 1/2. IT was wonderful, but a little too sweet. Next time put maybe 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Definitely needs less sugar - I used lemon juice to give it a little tangy flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States