Berry Bread Pudding with Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My wife and I had 10 couples over for desert on New Years Eve. We decided we wanted to make this recipe after reviewing it.. are we glad we did. All I can say is this, they kept going back to the server for more. I made a double batch and by the end of the evening it was gone. Thank you Jeannie for a great desert recipe; it is very easy to make and extremely tasty. It is being passed on to all of our family members by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Loved the fruit in it but be sure to tuck them into the slices of bread or they get burned. I'd also cover it with foil next time so that the tops of the bread pieces don't get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Tonight, I made three bread pudding recipes (I had alot of left over hot dog and hamburger buns after a cookout). This recipes wins hands down over Grandmother's Bread Pudding and Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III. The bread pudding alone is very flavorful. The addition of the sauce makes a great recipe even more decadent. I only made a couple of changes: I used fresh strawberries and a cup of frozen mixed berries (blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries). I also substituted buttermilk and heavy cream for about 3 of the 6 cups of the whole milk--I needed to use these items before they went bad. Update: I sent my husband with a batch to take to work and I took one to my place of employment. We both received comments stating that this was the best bread pudding EVER! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Bread pudding is my weakness, so I'm always on the lookout for a new recipe, especially one that doesn't require tons of butter or heavy cream. Instead of using butter to grease the pan, I sprayed 4 ramekins (halved the recipe) with cooking spray, used an egg substitute for the eggs and f/f half & half for the whole milk. Baking the dish (or ramekins) in a water bath helps to eliminate a soggy center, as some reviewers experienced. The spices complimented the fresh berries perfectly -- will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this for dessert last night and everyone loved it, even my husband who claims he hates any bread pudding. I followed the recipe exactly except the cooking time, I had to add an extra 30 minutes and I didn't have very many blackberries so I added a few blueberries, also I added pecans. I've made several different bread puddings and this is one of my new favorites. The mix of the berries and the brown sugar sauce is great. It tastes even better the next day! Make sure that you use a good french bread and that it's definately stale, trust me it makes a difference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
We Tried this recipe, it was really easy and everyone absolutely loved it. We will DEFINATELY make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I'm not a fan of bread pudding but this was delicious! I used 2 cups of strawberries and no blackberries since I didn't have any on hand. Also I used 2% milk mixed with half & half and evaporated milk since that's what I had. It still worked and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I've made several fruity bread puddings before. This one is a really good combination of spices and fruit. It's sweet and tasty enough without the sauce. I usually just let the bread soak about 5-10 minutes, then add the fruit, making sure none are on the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Wonderful flavor! Couldn't get fresh berries so I used 16 oz. frozen blueberries (the nice big ones)thawed and well drained. They worked perfectly! Would look for a more dense bread next time-I used a so so french loaf. Also used fresh grated nutmeg instead of the pie spice. This recipe is a real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a big hit with all my guests! Gooey, sweet and delicious. I used unsweetened frozen blueberries and strawberries and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States