Berry Bread Pudding with Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wow, this is a great recipe. I don't have great luck making sauces turn out right, so I was worried about this one, for sure. But it came out perfectly. And was a compliment to the pudding. The pudding is just like it should be. Crispy on top, mushy inside. The berries are a great addition. My husband who doesn't like desserts much really liked it. It's rich, though. Not for the faint of heart. I followed the recipe exactly (minus a cup of milk because I was worried about it all fitting in the mixing bowl) and it turned out great. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was my first attempt at any bread pudding recipe and I thought it turned out pretty good! I used frozen strawberries & blueberries. I think next time I will put the fruit under a layer of bread. As it baked, the blue berries on top dried out a bit too much. I don't think the brown sugar sauce was worth the time or calaries. The bread pudding has enough flavor to stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaMazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a big hit with all my guests! Gooey, sweet and delicious. I used unsweetened frozen blueberries and strawberries and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Bread pudding is my weakness, so I'm always on the lookout for a new recipe, especially one that doesn't require tons of butter or heavy cream. Instead of using butter to grease the pan, I sprayed 4 ramekins (halved the recipe) with cooking spray, used an egg substitute for the eggs and f/f half & half for the whole milk. Baking the dish (or ramekins) in a water bath helps to eliminate a soggy center, as some reviewers experienced. The spices complimented the fresh berries perfectly -- will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is a wonderful bread pudding recipe! I really love the richness of the berries & cinnamon together! I have varied the berries with whatever variety I have on hand, & they all have been great! Finally! A bread pudding worth making more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I'm not a fan of bread pudding but this was delicious! I used 2 cups of strawberries and no blackberries since I didn't have any on hand. Also I used 2% milk mixed with half & half and evaporated milk since that's what I had. It still worked and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
WOW I can't believe people said too mushy, this was fantastic. I made sure the bread was 4 days old and measured only according to what the bread needed to soak up. My whole family loved it. Would do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The bread pudding itself is a little bit too soggy, even after I baked it for 60 minutes. It tastes great, although without the sauce, it's not sweet enough. However, the sauce turned bad after a day since it's butter-based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I am really not sure where I went wrong. I am not having much luck with making bread pudding. I cooked this almost double the time specified and it was still a soggy mess. I will try again b/c the part that was cooked was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
it tasted great and was easy to make. it turned out too moist inside for me, so I would cut down a little on the milk and egg mixture next time. I would also cut the sauce in half, because it was very sweet and would have totally drowned the pudding if I had put it all on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States