Berry Bread Pudding with Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this for dessert last night and everyone loved it, even my husband who claims he hates any bread pudding. I followed the recipe exactly except the cooking time, I had to add an extra 30 minutes and I didn't have very many blackberries so I added a few blueberries, also I added pecans. I've made several different bread puddings and this is one of my new favorites. The mix of the berries and the brown sugar sauce is great. It tastes even better the next day! Make sure that you use a good french bread and that it's definately stale, trust me it makes a difference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Tonight, I made three bread pudding recipes (I had alot of left over hot dog and hamburger buns after a cookout). This recipes wins hands down over Grandmother's Bread Pudding and Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III. The bread pudding alone is very flavorful. The addition of the sauce makes a great recipe even more decadent. I only made a couple of changes: I used fresh strawberries and a cup of frozen mixed berries (blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries). I also substituted buttermilk and heavy cream for about 3 of the 6 cups of the whole milk--I needed to use these items before they went bad. Update: I sent my husband with a batch to take to work and I took one to my place of employment. We both received comments stating that this was the best bread pudding EVER! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
A real crowd pleaser and sooo delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
The only reason I'm giving this a "four" is because I did not make the bread pudding, only used the brown sugar sauce on another bread pudding recipe - it was yummy! I will try the whole recipe in the future, though, because it sure sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I've made several fruity bread puddings before. This one is a really good combination of spices and fruit. It's sweet and tasty enough without the sauce. I usually just let the bread soak about 5-10 minutes, then add the fruit, making sure none are on the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I used a different bread pudding recipe and was looking for a yummy sauce. This brown sugar sauce was easy to make and delicious! It was the perfect sauce for the bread pudding! I can't wait to make the Berry Bread Pudding and use the sauce! I did add some cream to the sauce at the end to make it creamier. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I did not find this bread pudding to be flavorful. I can't figure out what it was lacking, but it just wasn't quite right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
egg mixture makes a nice custard. i added more fruit than listed and mixed layered it with the bread in addition to having it on top. otherwise, the fruit only on the top will shrivel up and you will need much more to have the fruity taste as well. overall, very good. the sauce makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
REALLY Yummy, ate it for days. THe only change I made was to pour melted butter over the bread. I also added some chopped nuts on top. I wasn't crazy about the sauce, but it went well with it. Maybe a caramel sauce would be better. Either way it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was really good and I was prepared to NOT LIKE it. I am seriously attached to my mom's bread pudding recipe but this was a great alternative. The berries add just the right amount of flavor punch to tie everything together. It is a very wet bread pudding so if you like yours on the drier side add lots of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States