Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I am a Bermudian and I have tried this recipe many times. I believe that you have to add your own amounts of seasoning when making fish chowder - to suit your personal taste - this recipe is the PERFECT start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a good start. I looked at a few other recipes and tried to make it taste like what I had in Bermuda so I made a couple of changes, I added a dash of nutmeg, allspice, cayenne pepper, thyme, one clove, 2 tbsp of dark rum, 4 tbsp of sherry pepper sauce, and Walleye for the fish because I have a freezer full of it. Turned out great and smells so good when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have made this several times and have made a few changes . I added a few more spices, cayenne, dash nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. Ok, more than a few. The nutmeng, cumin and cinnamon especially give the flavour an exotic lift. No one can quite figure out the undertones but they love it. Just a little of everything is all it takes. Not too heavy or it is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crogirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Wow, this was an even bigger hit than I expected. The store was out of clam juice, so I used 3 cans of clams packed in clam juice, and added a cup of water. The clams made the chowder nice and meaty. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This soup is spectacular and very easy. I used chicken broth in lieu of the clam juice and also added a can of corn. I wanted a recipe for striped bass and this was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent!! I did make a few personalizations ... added canned baby clams, added a habenero instead of a jalapeno, and also added 1/2 cup of dark rum and 1 lb of jumbo prawns. The soup was good right after preparing, but was fantastic the next day!!! I am currently making another batch to freeze and have ready for a last minute thaw and serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsiestable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was great. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe, but since I had just under a pound of cod, I added some canned clams when I added the fish. It was really good. Just enough zing, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked the flavor and it was nice to have such a fresh tasting fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had to make do with the ingredients I had on hand, and I didn't have enough clam juice. I made up the difference with chicken broth. I think it would have been much better if I had had enough juice. I did add extra seafood though (bar clams, scallops, crab, shrimp) and used tilapia instead of snapper, since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband and parents love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States