Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Pretty good fish soup the way submitted. Idid not have enough clam juice on hand, so I added water and fish bouillon cube to make enough liquid. I will try it again with variety of seafood and even with pasta instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Made the fish chowder twice so far. Made the 1st according to recipe but added thyme and cayenne. Really good, but it masked the clam juice flavor (which 4c clam juice=~$10). Leaving out the thyme, but not the cayenne left the subtle clam flavor along with the flavors of the veggies and fish. 5 stars the fist time, even better the 2nd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great recipe.. I love spicy foods!! Those that do not care for the heat can eliminate the jalapeno pepper or only use half. I used salmon instead of red snapper; came out great!!. For those who like allot of broth, consider adding two additional cups of water.. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great with fresh bluefish. I cut all the red out and use about two cups cut fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent!! I did make a few personalizations ... added canned baby clams, added a habenero instead of a jalapeno, and also added 1/2 cup of dark rum and 1 lb of jumbo prawns. The soup was good right after preparing, but was fantastic the next day!!! I am currently making another batch to freeze and have ready for a last minute thaw and serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsiestable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
If we could give this a 10*, we would. This was absolutely fabulous. I made a few changes (more jalapenos and added baby clams), but this is perfect as is. Fantastic! Thanks!... this is going into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
this is my favorite now.i made this yesterday for iftar(dinner in ramadan)my guests and hubby loved this much so each one ate two portions :)) and this can be good with any sort of fish.the fish i used was a gilthead seabream or such a thing :P it was leftover of the day before tht i cooked in the oven.delicous and easy.i will always make this thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have made this several times and have made a few changes . I added a few more spices, cayenne, dash nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. Ok, more than a few. The nutmeng, cumin and cinnamon especially give the flavour an exotic lift. No one can quite figure out the undertones but they love it. Just a little of everything is all it takes. Not too heavy or it is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crogirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Really good soup. I used perch, tilapia, and 2 cans of clams - no green pepper and chicken broth instead of clam juice. Not spicy - maybe next time I'll use 2 jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked the flavor and it was nice to have such a fresh tasting fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States