Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added 2 tbsp of Black Seal rum and 2tbsp of Outerbridge Sherry Pepper sauce that I brought back from my recent trip to Bermuda. This soup brought back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was great the first night (a little pricey, but still great)...however the leftovers didn't go over as well. Overall, I'd make it again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is tasty, tasty, tasty! And, although it tastes fabulous the first night, if you can make it up the day before? .... All the better! This is one of those dishes that loves to infuse the flavor of its ingredients into the fish ... so making it up, letting it cool, then popping it into the fridge overnight and slowly warming it the following day before serving (or the third day, even) will bode well for you. This is a keeper ... and you don't have to change a thing unless you use a different type of fish (I've used red snapper and talapia so far). Happy chowder eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Lovely - we made exactly as recipe said, except we had no jalapeno chilli, so for added heat I added a few good shakes of piri piri seasoning. a very satisfying dish - what I would call 'soul food'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Pretty good fish soup the way submitted. Idid not have enough clam juice on hand, so I added water and fish bouillon cube to make enough liquid. I will try it again with variety of seafood and even with pasta instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Made the fish chowder twice so far. Made the 1st according to recipe but added thyme and cayenne. Really good, but it masked the clam juice flavor (which 4c clam juice=~$10). Leaving out the thyme, but not the cayenne left the subtle clam flavor along with the flavors of the veggies and fish. 5 stars the fist time, even better the 2nd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great recipe.. I love spicy foods!! Those that do not care for the heat can eliminate the jalapeno pepper or only use half. I used salmon instead of red snapper; came out great!!. For those who like allot of broth, consider adding two additional cups of water.. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great with fresh bluefish. I cut all the red out and use about two cups cut fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent!! I did make a few personalizations ... added canned baby clams, added a habenero instead of a jalapeno, and also added 1/2 cup of dark rum and 1 lb of jumbo prawns. The soup was good right after preparing, but was fantastic the next day!!! I am currently making another batch to freeze and have ready for a last minute thaw and serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsiestable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
If we could give this a 10*, we would. This was absolutely fabulous. I made a few changes (more jalapenos and added baby clams), but this is perfect as is. Fantastic! Thanks!... this is going into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States