Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent soup base. I will reduce the veggies next as there was more veggies than broth. I added extra seasoning like all spice, cloves, cumin, cayenne, and paprika. I use walleye as I found it is the best white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
We just got with dinner, and this was so wonderful! Felt like a vacation at home! I somehow missed the tomato paste until I was cooking this so I substituted ketchup, it worked anyway. I added dashes of nutmeg, cumin, cinnamon, and cayenne. I used rockfish b/c the man at the seafood counter said it was the same thing as red snapper. This was so good I will make again, but next time I will use 2 lbs. of fish instead of one as we all wanted more fish. Great dinner though! Incedently I served this w/ slices of lemon basil baguette and olive oil for dipping, Longboard beer and for dessert Coconut gelato and mixed tropical fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I had some fishy fish, the spice helped calm down the fishyness...this was so great I am making it again just two weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Korbel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I did everything as written except that I forgot the potatoes. It's a little bland. If I made it again I'd add some extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Perfect!!! Brings back memories of home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
LOVED it!! I did add more spices though: cayenne, nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. This was I think what Crogirl had put in her review. Sorry, I know its not fair when people give a rating and they dont even make it like recipe states but I just didnt think there would have been much flavor, not even salt was listed! I just couldnt pass this up and NOT make this. SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added 2 tbsp of Black Seal rum and 2tbsp of Outerbridge Sherry Pepper sauce that I brought back from my recent trip to Bermuda. This soup brought back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was great the first night (a little pricey, but still great)...however the leftovers didn't go over as well. Overall, I'd make it again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is tasty, tasty, tasty! And, although it tastes fabulous the first night, if you can make it up the day before? .... All the better! This is one of those dishes that loves to infuse the flavor of its ingredients into the fish ... so making it up, letting it cool, then popping it into the fridge overnight and slowly warming it the following day before serving (or the third day, even) will bode well for you. This is a keeper ... and you don't have to change a thing unless you use a different type of fish (I've used red snapper and talapia so far). Happy chowder eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Lovely - we made exactly as recipe said, except we had no jalapeno chilli, so for added heat I added a few good shakes of piri piri seasoning. a very satisfying dish - what I would call 'soul food'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States