Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Doss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Delicious! Subsituted chicken stock for clam juice, used 1/3 of jalapena pepper and used a mix of haddock, calamari and scallops. Broth was particularly outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
hearty and delicious. maybe a little extra seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The true secret of a Bermuda fish chowder lies in using beef broth NOT clam broth. That is the subtle undertone you are looking for. The addition of a few whole peppercorns and cloves certainly takes it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was sublime, with flavors melding effortlessly. Recipe changes made: subbed 2 lbs. fresh-caught rockfish for snapper, subbed tomato ketchup for paste, added 1 can of clams with juice (Trader Joe's), chicken stock paste w/water for other two cups, 1 can of crab meat (again, Trader Joe's) and 2/3 cup of frozen corn. To my taste, this was an exquisitely fortifying meal. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a really good recipe! I did read reviews prior to cooking and did ad a bit of Allspice and nutmeg and a bag of frozen corn. I felt it really added a lot of flavor. I also substituted the snapper for Tilapia and I threw in some scallops I had on hand. My family, and my knitting group I served it to the next day loved it! I think I will serve it with corn bread next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Used tomato juice and rotel tomatoes was great use of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is our favorite fish chowder recipe. I make the broth the day before, and add the fish when I reheat it for dinner. I use a pound of tilapia or cod, and 1/2 lb. peeled shrimp. I too add a can or two of undrained clams. If I don't have enough clam juice, I make it up with chicken broth. I use red pepper flakes instead of jalapenos, because we don't like them. I often use pasta instead of potatoes. I know this sounds like a lot of changes, but it's easy, and the original recipe is probably fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is a great authentic recipe, just like we have had many times in Bermuda. However, you must add Outerbridge's Sherry Rum Peppers Sauce to give it the wonderful Bermuda taste. This is the Outerbridge's sauce with the black label. You can google it and find suppliers. I order 3-4 bottles at a time- great on eggs and other soups, stews, or on anything that needs a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States