Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a really good recipe! I did read reviews prior to cooking and did ad a bit of Allspice and nutmeg and a bag of frozen corn. I felt it really added a lot of flavor. I also substituted the snapper for Tilapia and I threw in some scallops I had on hand. My family, and my knitting group I served it to the next day loved it! I think I will serve it with corn bread next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Used tomato juice and rotel tomatoes was great use of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is our favorite fish chowder recipe. I make the broth the day before, and add the fish when I reheat it for dinner. I use a pound of tilapia or cod, and 1/2 lb. peeled shrimp. I too add a can or two of undrained clams. If I don't have enough clam juice, I make it up with chicken broth. I use red pepper flakes instead of jalapenos, because we don't like them. I often use pasta instead of potatoes. I know this sounds like a lot of changes, but it's easy, and the original recipe is probably fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is a great authentic recipe, just like we have had many times in Bermuda. However, you must add Outerbridge's Sherry Rum Peppers Sauce to give it the wonderful Bermuda taste. This is the Outerbridge's sauce with the black label. You can google it and find suppliers. I order 3-4 bottles at a time- great on eggs and other soups, stews, or on anything that needs a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent soup base. I will reduce the veggies next as there was more veggies than broth. I added extra seasoning like all spice, cloves, cumin, cayenne, and paprika. I use walleye as I found it is the best white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
We just got with dinner, and this was so wonderful! Felt like a vacation at home! I somehow missed the tomato paste until I was cooking this so I substituted ketchup, it worked anyway. I added dashes of nutmeg, cumin, cinnamon, and cayenne. I used rockfish b/c the man at the seafood counter said it was the same thing as red snapper. This was so good I will make again, but next time I will use 2 lbs. of fish instead of one as we all wanted more fish. Great dinner though! Incedently I served this w/ slices of lemon basil baguette and olive oil for dipping, Longboard beer and for dessert Coconut gelato and mixed tropical fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I had some fishy fish, the spice helped calm down the fishyness...this was so great I am making it again just two weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I did everything as written except that I forgot the potatoes. It's a little bland. If I made it again I'd add some extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Perfect!!! Brings back memories of home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States