Berliner Kranzer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. The cookies are as beautiful as they are delicious. I would like to offer a hint, lightly flour your hands when working the dough into ropes, it makes it so much easier and chilling the dough slightly if it gets too soft does the trick. Try these cookies, the orange zest makes them wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe. It takes time, but these cookies are very impressive on a plate. Personally I think it's essential to use fresh orange peel and I also like to add a little cinnamon and ground clove to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I added these cookies many years ago to my Christmas cookie baking and have been making them ever since. They're definitely worth the trouble! We also started a tradition of having them with coffee on Christmas morning along with varied nut breads. If you like cookies that are a little less sweet and more like a biscuit, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are my husbands favorite christmas cookie! They are alot of work but they are so worth it. We also substitute the candied fruit for green and red colored sugar. Not as fancy, but a little easier for children to help make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe to have for coffee and tea. One thing to add is Berliner Kranz is traditionally not a cookie. It is a whipped cream filled and topped cake with nuts something completely different than this cookie. It would be great that the name matched the recipe. Anyway good cookie whatever you name it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Cute decorative, but not super tastey. I made them into different shapes like bells, candy canes, and circular wreaths. Some members of my family really liked them and some did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have been baking this cookie since 1960. I will add my recipe to this site as soon as I can In place of candied fruit, I use red and green Maraschino cherries. I cut them in half and dry them on paper towels. To me they make a prettier leaf and berry design. Also, they actually add a more flavorful taste. To the young man who felt he had 'wasted' the ingredients in the 'Rocks' he baked...You must read the times and temperatures in the recipe. It says to only bake 10-12 min. It also says it is not supposed to brown. You paint a bit of egg white on the wreath and sprinkle sugar upon it.[Yo could switch to green decorator sugar but it only calls for sanding sugar] The dough only has to set up - not brown up. Cookies that brown on top usually get iced later. You might be happier buying the pre-made sugar cookie dough at the grocery store. Just slice off a 1/2" s;ice, roll it into a 8" rope, make a wreath shape, overlapping the ends. Add the colored fruit prior to baking. If you want the tops to brown bake for the time on the package. Buy a tube of pre-made green icing. Put on a star tip and decorate your wreath. You could even substitute Redhot Cinnamon Candies for the berries. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I waited for them to turn a bit golden, they did not, took them out they were hard and bland. Waste of ingredients. I was so excited to make cookies for my German family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States