Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've never made cubed steak, so I was a bit nervous. This turned out great! My son loved it. I did a one pan method and after browning and adding the water I covered it with aluminum foil and popped it in a 325 degree oven for 2 hours (per another reviewers suggestion.) The meat was tender and served over noodles with the gravy made a great meal. My only change will be to reduce the salt next time. I think I will skip the salt with the flour as the bouillon gives it enough salt. Will definitely be making this more often! Great bargain dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
So good *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is the first time I have ever enjoyed a cubed steak! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! The only thing I did different is threw in an onion to simmer down with the steaks. Then at the end removed the steaks, strained out the onions and lumps and caught what was left of the beef stock in a bowl, made another few cups of stock, whipped up a butter and flour roux in the same skillet then added the stock for a yummy brown gravy and made some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leresis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is yummy yummy ! It's a huge hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good! It made cube steak edible for me (usually choke it down because my husband likes it), and I even liked the flavor. I made the recipe just as posted. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Spoede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as listed, but doubled it. I fried the meat in my electric skillet at 350*with the oil. Then I took the meat out and stirred in the beef bouillon and water ( I used 3tsp of beef bouillon granular's to 4 cups of water. My electric skillet is oblong and big) I put the meat back in pan and let that come to a boil. Turned the heat down to 200*, covered it with the lid, and cooked it for two hours. The meat was so tender you could cut it with your fork! It was wonderful! The gravy was also, made mashed potatoes to go with the gravy. I will definitely make this dish over and over. The only change I will make is add a onion. Try this simple but tasty recipe, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing it. God Bless to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I am so glad I finally came across this recipe again! Made it a few times & absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MlssCue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made this for dinner and my kids, one of which is very picky, loved it. She even went back for seconds! Will definitely make this again. I used beef broth instead of water. As the meat cooked, the gravy seemed to cook away, so I just added more beef broth and about 2-3 more tsp of flour and mixed it up in the cooker. I moved it to a smaller burned and turned on low. This did the trick. I ended up using 32oz of beef broth. My picky one even asked for more gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was so easy to make, and the meat was so tender. I substituted the beef boullion with beefy onion soup mix because that was what I had available. Also, after browning the meat I added a chopped onion and sauteed it until it was translucent. I then added the beefy onion soup mix with 2 cups of water. Stirred it to loosen what was on the bottom of the pan. Then I added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it and a can of Golden Mushroom soup...not diluted. Stirred until completely mixed, then poured over the meat. I cooked egg noodles rather than potatoes. My husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
It was really good. I did this recipe healthier. I used deer meat instead of cow and olive oil instead of vegetable oil and gluten free bis quick instead of all purpose flour and they turned out super good. Recommend to everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Reeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States