Bengali Dhal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Not as flavorful as I had hoped, even though I used extra Tumeric and bay leaves. I want to try again but with more Serrano chilis, I was expecting a little more spice. Still a good, easy recipe and I loved the garlic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I used canned cubed tomatoes. It was very good but I let it cook maybe 1 hr. The lentils have to be very cooked. Served it with rice and coconut curry chicken. Heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This needed a healthy dose of salt, but the flavors were actually quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe! I think it needed more salt but other than that it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I really loved the flavor of this Dhal. I added a bit more garlic (2 cloves), 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/4 tsp ground coriander seeds, in addition to the fresh. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
The real thing is great (but no tomatoes) but here is my non-authentic shortcut for this dish. Pour a can of lentils, liquid & all into a saucepan and warm gently. Fry 1 cup chopped onions in a little veg oil and add to lentils. Sprinkly 1 tablespoon (more or less) curry powder on top and stir. Add salt & pepper to taste. With a hand- blender mix until smooth and pour over cooked rice - real comfort nursery food! Reminds me of my childhood in India
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
It had beautiful color and a wonderful smell. For some reason there was a bit too much bitterness. I'm not sure if it was the turmeric or what, but it was in every bite and I couldn't shake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is really good - I am really surprised! Will definitely make again and super easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was really easy to throw together. I made it on a whim and I had all of the ingredients at home already. It seems like quite a simple dish, but the caramelized onions and fresh coriander really give the dish something extra so don't leave those out! I will probably double the caramelized onions next time. I increased the turmeric, as per another reviewer's suggestion. And... I had to use up some butternut squash in the fridge, so I grated about a cup of that and threw it into the pot with the tomatoes. I don't think it really affected the flavour or texture of the dish at all. Not 'authentic,' I know, but it DID make this dish even healthier. I still prefer spicier curries to dhal, but this recipe is still a keeper due to it's simplicity. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
A few things to note: 1. Traditional (and in my opinion, more flavorful) daal is made with chhana daal, this can be found in the ethnic section. 2. cherry tomatoes are never used in bengali cooking, I recommend 1 small tomato, diced. 3. I recommend using 1 large onion in the whole dish, 3/4 in the lentils and the remainder when frying up at the end. 4. The heat level for this dish is not high with serrano peppers. I would recommend using the small hot peppers found at an Indian store. 5. 1/2 tsp of turmeric is very mild to me. I would use 1-2 tsp myself, as it's very healthy for you and doesn't have a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States