Bengali Chicken Curry with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My in-laws are from Bangladesh and I made this for them. I didn't use tomatoes because of a medical condition. I thought it was really good and my MIL said it was very good. She hasn't been eating much due to illness but she had a 2nd helping. I'd call that success! I didn't give it 5 stars because it's not as good as MILs chicken curry. I know she doesn't use tomatoes in hers so I know that's not why. This is a keeper until I can get her to give me her "recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
LOVE! I doubled it, used bone-in legs and thighs, canned tomatoes, a little more oil, cup of filtered water, cinnamon stick, and simmered for 90 minutes. This recipe is amaaaazing! A must for anyone who loves a Bengali kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Good flavours and a bit of a kick. I added a bit more of all the spices and more tomato as I like sauce but nice, easy dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Can't wait to make this again! I added coconut milk, green onion and mushrooms. Served with a yummy Thai rice and baby carrots. better than restaurant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Watch out for that cayenne pepper!! It was way to spicy for my husband and I to enjoy. I think next time I will add the cayenne ONLY to taste. Otherwise it had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodwinefashion
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very delicious! I love all the spices that are used in this curry. I am not usually a fan of curry, but my husband is so I gave this a try and I'm glad I did! I agree with the other reviews -- I added about 1 cup of chicken stock and doubled the spices because I prefer very spicy dishes. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwinefashion
Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent! My partner usually doesn't like Indian food, but I made this for him (I'm trying to convert him) and he came back for seconds AND thirds. So delicious! I'm even thinking about trying it with shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
A very tasty dish. I doubled the spices to turn up the heat a bit. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Making this was so much fun, smelling all the flavors as I sautéed each ingredient, but adding the masala sauce, OMG that made the dish and sent the aroma throughout our complex!!! A must try recipe I highly recommend it, but don't forget for those of you wanting more sauce, add water also, because that will help cook the potatoes well, and like myself, I love carrots so I added them to give more volume. SNAPS TO THE CREATOR OF THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States