Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I did not like these. They came out beautiful but they are way too dense and bland. Hamburger buns should be light and fluffy, these came out very heavy (heavier than potato bread). I do not think the bun benefited from the egg wash, unless you like your hamburger buns on the crunchy side. I might even compare the texture of this bread to French bread, or pizza crust, a really dense form of it. I always follow recipes to the letter the first time, so I know I didn't make any mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AyahDawood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I found these buns to be a little heavy. I will say I dumped it all into a bread maker and didn't follow the directions about boiling the milk though, so it may be better if you follow all the directions properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I think these were very nice but I did have to make a couple of tweaks. I mixed 2 cups of flour with the yeast and added the milk mixture, while mixing I gradually added the remaining flour, but found that after 4 3/4 cups it was starting to look dry. Not one for wasting things, I chucked the egg white in and let the mixer knead it for a little more than 8 minutes. It was just enough moisture. These are not like commercial buns, they are better with a crunchy outside and fluffy soft inside. I was afraid after other reviews they may be bland so I sprinkled herbs de province on half of them. Both with and without they were very nice, I would say you just need to add half of the flour slowly because depending on the humidity in the air you may use more or less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Easy--very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I love this recipe, easy with my Kitchenaid and so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Family Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipe. Very easy. I used 3 c stone ground wheat flour and the rest white, proofed my yeast in some of the warm liquid. Ate 2 of the buns right out of the oven! Following day, a little heavy on texture, but still light. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome! Store bought are now a thing of the past in my house! They freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These hamburger buns are amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly! My family loved them! I took them to my bible study luncheon and they disappeared fast!! Will make these more often, may not by buns ever again!! Great recipe thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is the best bun recipe I've ever tried. It's now my go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I'm so excited, I finally found a recipe for bread that I can make, it was easy to do and came out great! No more wierd preservatives in my bread from now on! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States