Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Great Hamburger buns. I did half the work in my bread maker. I microwaved the milk and water for a minute each and then added the rest of the ingredients as listed. After the second kneading of the machine, I removed the dough and placed it in a well greased bowl. The dough was very sticky so I added another 1/4 cup flour. I also used unhbleached bread flour instead. I rolled the dough into balls about twice the size of a golf ball and still came out with 16 buns. I did not do any wash on the buns. They were light and fluffy and held the hamburger with all the fixings without any problems. The taste was nice and light. My husband really liked them too and said I should always make these. Thank you for the recipe, it sure is a keeper and I will share with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuddls

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I did not like these. They came out beautiful but they are way too dense and bland. Hamburger buns should be light and fluffy, these came out very heavy (heavier than potato bread). I do not think the bun benefited from the egg wash, unless you like your hamburger buns on the crunchy side. I might even compare the texture of this bread to French bread, or pizza crust, a really dense form of it. I always follow recipes to the letter the first time, so I know I didn't make any mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AyahDawood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I found these buns to be a little heavy. I will say I dumped it all into a bread maker and didn't follow the directions about boiling the milk though, so it may be better if you follow all the directions properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I think these were very nice but I did have to make a couple of tweaks. I mixed 2 cups of flour with the yeast and added the milk mixture, while mixing I gradually added the remaining flour, but found that after 4 3/4 cups it was starting to look dry. Not one for wasting things, I chucked the egg white in and let the mixer knead it for a little more than 8 minutes. It was just enough moisture. These are not like commercial buns, they are better with a crunchy outside and fluffy soft inside. I was afraid after other reviews they may be bland so I sprinkled herbs de province on half of them. Both with and without they were very nice, I would say you just need to add half of the flour slowly because depending on the humidity in the air you may use more or less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Easy--very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I love this recipe, easy with my Kitchenaid and so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Family Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipe. Very easy. I used 3 c stone ground wheat flour and the rest white, proofed my yeast in some of the warm liquid. Ate 2 of the buns right out of the oven! Following day, a little heavy on texture, but still light. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome! Store bought are now a thing of the past in my house! They freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These hamburger buns are amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly! My family loved them! I took them to my bible study luncheon and they disappeared fast!! Will make these more often, may not by buns ever again!! Great recipe thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is the best bun recipe I've ever tried. It's now my go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States