Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by 00Angela00
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I had to make these twice because they were far too dense the first time around. After reading more reviews I learned two important things that really made these turn out perfect. 1. read the instructions on the yeast packet. The instructions in the recipe say to let the heated liquids cool until look warm, however my yeast said to add flour mixture when liquid is 120*-130*F. 2. Slowly add the flour near the end until you have the dough at a slightly sticky texture. If you squeeze it between your fingers it should stick and then come off after a second or so. We've tried these with hamburgers and sandwiches and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Excellent! So easy, my six year old did a lot of the work including the kneeding. We have doen much less with bread since becoming a non-processed food family. We make our own bread which is good, but is heavy and not like sandwich bread you get at the store. This recipe makes the best hamburger buns I have ever tasted and a poud six year old to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
My first successful bread! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very nice and fluffy!- easy to work up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
i made these with whole wheat, rye, honey, added gluten and extra yeast (because of the whole wheat). i didnt bother with the wash and i didnt use quite as much flour as the recipe calls for, they came out wonderfully light and tender. my children had no complaints, two days late we have two left and they are Still tender/ not stale. good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_shortcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These are an excellent simple hamburger bun recipe. I make them frequently for sandwich rolls. I have even made them for hotdog buns! To make them into pretzel buns (I made pretzel hotdog buns with this recipe tonight - amazing), form the dough into the desired shape, allow to rest for ten minutes and then dip them into a almost boiling water bath mixture of water and baking soda for 20-25 seconds. Pat dry and bake for approximately 14-16 minutes or until a dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I thought these were really good, mine did turn out a little dense but I'm pretty sure I used too much flour and wish I would have read more of the reviews warning of this. Oh well, live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Way to much flour. Not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cahoffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Great Hamburger buns. I did half the work in my bread maker. I microwaved the milk and water for a minute each and then added the rest of the ingredients as listed. After the second kneading of the machine, I removed the dough and placed it in a well greased bowl. The dough was very sticky so I added another 1/4 cup flour. I also used unhbleached bread flour instead. I rolled the dough into balls about twice the size of a golf ball and still came out with 16 buns. I did not do any wash on the buns. They were light and fluffy and held the hamburger with all the fixings without any problems. The taste was nice and light. My husband really liked them too and said I should always make these. Thank you for the recipe, it sure is a keeper and I will share with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuddls

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States