Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were alright if you are looking for a dinner roll, but didn't work out for our veggie burgers. They turned out to be too dense and we ate them with butter instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made this recipe this morning, didn't have any milk, so I subbed prepared nonfat milk powder, while kneading the dough seemed really dry and strange, so I added about a Tb of warm water which loosened it up a bit, it ended up rising nicely, and my sister said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My family loves these with Italian beef. The buns don't get all soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
A good roll recipe, but definitely NOT buns. I made these to go with sloppy joes, so the thicker consistency was ok. However, I'll keep looking for a soft, airy bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBird+3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Vassalboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I had never made buns or rolls before so I was a little nervous. I chose this recipe because of its high ratings (and it seemed easy enough). Turns out, it is an easy recipe for beginners, like myself. I read reviews beforehand and took some advice and suggestions of others. However, they are still pretty dense and a bit too sweet for hamburger buns in my opinon. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but at least I'm a little more comfortable with baking bread now. I actually enjoyed them better as dinner rolls with butter... But even like that they are still a bit heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I am allergic to eggs so I like this recipe because there are no eggs actually in it. I've been making bread for my family for about 20 years now, but never tried making my own buns. I made this recipe for our 4th of July dinner (sloppy joes) and the texture was exactly what I was looking for. It didn't have much flavor, about what you would get from pre-packaged buns bought in the store, but I think if I double the yeast & salt for the next batch that should do the trick. The instructions are a bit confusing for the inexperienced baker. For those having trouble, you don't just dump 6 cups of flour in a bowl and pour the yeast in. You have to start with HALF the flour the recipe calls for, add your liquids, then add your flour 1/2 cup at a time until the dough can be handled easily, usually about 4 to 5 cups. Then work in the rest !!as needed!! on the board as you knead it. This is called "Board Flour". Remember that on humid days your bread will need more flour, while on dry day's it will need less. This is where experience comes in handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The best buns i have tasted And i Baked These First Time in My Life. I Followed the Steps as Mentioned, Except For The Flour Which I Put 1 Cup Less. It Turned Very Soft N Very nice Taste That You Can Eat It Simply With Butter. Since I Was In Hurry To prepare lunch, I Allowed The dough To Rest First At 40 Mins, Then When I Placed on Baking Tray I allowed 15 mins rest. But This did Not Have Any Bad Effect On The Dough After Baking For 10 + Additional 5 Mins. My Husband Loved It And Joked about Opening A Bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
It was good. I only need two buns so I made the rest into a loaf. I think it was too much for one loaf so it was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Rush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
When I made this they turned out a little dense for hamburger buns. Does however make delicious dinner rolls... maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Excellent taste and texture. Simple, inexpensive ingredients. Holds its shape well when fully loaded with the hamburger patty, etc. The egg wash adds a eye-appealing gleam to the buns. I eliminated a few steps by using my stand mixer and dough hook with bread machine yeast. I microwaved the milk/water mixture to warm and then proceeded as though using the bread machine - liquid, butter, flour, salt, sugar, yeast. I substitued one cup of whole wheat flour for one cup of all purpose. This recipe probably costs less than $2.00 to make at home and turns out the most delicious hamburger buns you've ever tasted. You'll amaze and delight your friends at your next BBQ...just as I intend to do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States