Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
So let me first say that if you were to ONLY eat them the first day you make them, it would be a 5 star recipe! However, the very next day, the rolls were totally dried out, almost inedible, and would be a 1 star recipe. I make bread and rolls all the time, and I know not all homemade breads dry out so quickly. So, make these if you want to eat them right away, because they are delightful! I had NO trouble with the dough rising (maybe people weren't proofing correctly?), and the texture was not dense at all. They were light inside, but had enough texture to withstand holding in both hands like you do for a burger/sandwich and not getting squashed. The egg wash looked fabulous. I sprinkled sesame seeds on after the wash and it looked amazing. I would recommend refrigerating half of the dough before the second rise if you plan on having them another day, and baking them fresh right before eating. Note: I halved the recipe, and got 8 large buns. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, letting my bread machine do the work, and baking for 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great hamburger rolls, even better than the recipe I got from king arthur flour. I used potato water in place of regular water since I hear it helps with the texture of bread, I also used half an half in place of the milk. Finally I subbed some of the all purpose flour for whole wheat and bread flour. Perfection thank you. Ill be reviewing this recipe on my blog decupcakecriminal.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
If you have the time to make them, these are worth the effort. I made 8 jumbo buns and they were absolutely delicious. I will definitely be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very dense buns :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Next time I'll use my tried and true bread recipe. I'm not quite sure where things went wrong. Wet mixture was at 110ºF, the usual lukewarm temp for water for yeast. But the dough was reluctant to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Although, they rose well and appeared to have turned out well they seemed to be lacking in flavor and to be very dense. I ended up adding a couple small spoons of water to the mixer as the dough seemed very heavy to me. The directions were easy to follow, though I didn't understand why with the end product they were so hearty. I guess the texture of the dough should have been an indicator of that. The only thing I can think is that the buns at the stores and bakeries add dough conditioners which causes them to over rise and be super soft. Although, I thought they tasted more like a dense sub bread it was still better than buying store bought and not knowing what is in them. I would have just prefered a lighter bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Troy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great tasting buns! This puts a finishing touch to a great grilled hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Excellent! I used exactly what was called for except for I substituted bread yeast for the active dry. Turned out great and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The taste was OK--it tasted a bit salty though. The recipe submitter said they are light and fluffy, but that's not how they turned out for me. They were kinda of hard from the outside and chewy from the inside like french bread. They were also too heavy for a hamburger or hot dog bun. The bread is thick and heavy that it steals the spotlight from the slice of meat or hot dog sausage you use. The bread fills you up before you reach the meat. Perhaps this recipe would be better to use for dinner rolls? Definitely not hamburger buns. Also, I wanted to add that you need way less flour than the recipe calls for. I almost used 4 cups. As soon as I mixed 3 cups of flour w/ the yeast mixture, the forming dough looked dry. The dough was easy to work with. Kneading the dough was the only light & fluffy thing in this recipe. Sorry. I may try again since I like to give some recipes a second chance. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States