Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great hamburger bun recipe! Simple, fast (as far as yeast dough is concerned that is), and delicious. I halved the recipe using a full envelope of yeast and and entire egg. It made 8 perfect buns for Slopy Joes II. I have no complaints here. Baked up beautifully as instructed. Will definitely use this bun recipe in the future. Thanks for a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Just made these for a cookout I hosted. Everyone was amazed to see fresh buns being made but the only thing that amazed them more was the taste. These things come out looking gorgeous and I'm an amateur who's never even made bread before. Only advice is don't think you need to follow the amount of flour exactly as called for. Start with 3 cups or so and keep adding until the dough is not sticking to your hands. I ended up only using like 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Dougherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These were so easy to make. Who knew? The dough was so easy to work with. They are much better than store bought, and they held up really well with our BBQ sandwiches. The only thing I'll do different next time is make them a little bigger when I portion out the buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Careful when adding flour, I ended up needing only 4 cups to make the perfect dough. I added only 1 tsp of salt because I used salted butter. I brushed the tops with milk since I heard it makes them soft, not crispy on top. I thought the recipe failed because they came out of the oven almost rock hard, but softened up immensely as they cooled. I baked them to use for sandwiches for my husbands lunches so as soon as they cooled, I grabbed the funniest looking one and made a sandwich to taste test. It was delicious! I thought it was the perfect mixture of softness/chewiness and the taste was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I'm new to yeast, but i usually dissolve the yeast first. I can see the yeast in the mixture. Also, the dough isn't rising at all. Not sure how they will bake. Not impressed so far. Update: did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Awesome!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These were okay but very heavy. I'm a pretty experience bread baker and just felt the crumb and texture to be a little dense for me. Thank you, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had a lot of fun making these and was very excited to use them for my chicken sandwiches. They were beautiful to look at but a little too hard and chewy for my taste. I might try to make them again and do as another reviewer suggested and brush them with milk instead of the egg yolk to see if that makes them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
The recipe in of it's self was wonderful. I got the exact results I wanted. Nice fluffy hamburger buns. The only down side was the next day the left over went stale fast. So yes I recommend this, just be sure to eat them all on the day they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These Buns was just the right texture with a very nice flavor. Not just for hamburger. My hubby like them as well. you can add sesame seeds, mince onion, or garlic butter on them. or you can go the sweet route with honey or jam with or without butter yum! I will make these again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States